Details for Solomons Yachting Center

Solomons Yachting Center

Display in The Interactive Cruising Guidebook
Average rating 3.9 stars from 40 reviews

Address 255 Alexander Lane, PO Box 367
Solomons, MD 20688


After hours contact

Ashley 443-684-1484

Facility type

Marina - YES
Club - NO
Fuel - YES
Repair - YES
Municipal - NO
Other - NO


VHF channel



Email contact

Owner, manager



Payments acceptedCredit cards - NO
Checks - NO

Payment info

Payment discounts

Operation (seasonal or year-round)

Additional info: Does carry fuel in the winter.






Tide & current additional info

Usually less than 2 feet.


Approach: 12
Transient dockage: 8
Fuel dock: 12

Other depth info:

Dock typesWood - YES
Concrete - NO
Floating - YES
Fixed - NO
T/Alongside - NO
Other - NO

Additional info:

Size restrictionsLOA max: 100
Beam max: Unknown

Other info:


Transient: Unknown
Total: 100
Transient price: $2.50/ft (2016-06-24)

Other price info: $2.50 per foot now through October 1st, 2016.


Transient: Unknown
Total: Unknown
Transient price: Unknown

Other price info:

AC power30 amp - YES
50 amp - YES
100 amp - NO

Additional info:

Pricing info: 1 30 amp cord is $8.00.
2 30 amp cords are $12.00.
1 50 amp cord is $12.00.

Cable TV (and pricing)

No - There's cable TV in the lounge.

Phone hookup (and pricing)

Water (and pricing)


Dinghy access

Liveaboard info



Fuel brand:

Gas priceUnknown

Other price info: Mid-grade. Tax included. Gas discounts to commercial watermen and slipholders.

Diesel priceUnknown

Other price info: Tax included. Diesel discounts to commercial watermen and slipholders.


Pets welcomeYes

Other pet info: As long as kept on a leash.

Disability access

Launch service

Pump out







Yes - Air conditioned private.


Yes - Air conditioned private.






Yes - On site.


Yes - On site.

Hotels or motels

Repair capabilities


Haul out capabilities


Storage facilities

Yes - Winter storage.

Fishing supplies

Yes - Bait in the Ships Store.

Chartering capabilities

Internet access

Yes - High speed internet access available in the Captains Lounge. With WIFI throughout the marina. Code will be given upon arrival.

Boat ramp availability


Other services

Heated swimming pool.


Reviews for Solomons Yachting Center
Never Again-Read Recent Post, 2017-06-12
Captain: , Nashville, TN (206)

This is my third season stopping here while cruising the Chesapeake and while it has never been stellar it is an easy in and out for fuel ad a couple days layover until today.....I called this morning asking if they had slip and letting them know I would need fuel. It took over an hour and a half to take on 164 gallons of diesel. The dockhand told me the pump has not been working right for some time and has had several tech service calls. They knew this and let me come on in and swelter in almost 90 degree temperture pumping fuel. There is more but I'm too hot to go. on.

After last year's experience, I understood from other boaters that this spring things at the fuel dock were much improved. I called ahead this morning asking for overnight and fuel. When I relayed last year's awful time I was informed there were 2 pumps replaced. It worked and we were in our slip in less than 30 minutes after takin on 207.7 gal of diesel. Being in a small family business myself it felt good to know small businesses responded positively. I'll see them "on the turn-around".

Don't bother, 2017-06-01
Captain: , Port Robinson (10)

For the $2.50 per foot plus $12.00 for power we are very disappointed that this marina is not up to par. The docks are top notch. The water pressure not so much. The wifi bandwidth has been scaled back so much that it lags and drops out. I went to do laundry and 2 of the 3 dryers are not working. The pool is out of order. No discounts for any of these inconveniences. We have paid less for more. Literally go across to Calvert Marina for everything that isn't available here at a discounted rate if you fall into one of their many discounts. We would have if it had of been on the Garmin update.

very nice marina with lots of ammenities nearby, 2016-12-22
Captain: , Elizabeth City NC (51)

great marina, goos docks, fuel, power, lounge/bar with some food on the marina property. a bunch of restaurants nearby, some with entertainment. easy in easy out channel.

Now permanent slip holder, 2016-11-10
Captain: , Colonial Beach (91)

We've been staying at the Yachting Center every July/August for over 5 years. Nice floating docks and strong clean power. We are now permanent slip holders. Great location. The individual poolhouse bathrooms are nice and clean. Pool is a decent size for a small marina but, the onsite pool bar makes up for it (albeit pricy). Keep your dogs on a leash...and please clean up after your pets. Yard is efficient and accommodating. The fuel discount as posted no longer applies, but very competitive none-the-less. Note that it if a stiff southern breeze is blowing, it can be rocky at the docks.

excellent choice, 2016-11-10
Captain: , solomons maryland (90)

we were across the water for decades and we are thrilled we ended up here for a few months. great fuel price and the equipment works fine. Great neighbors that make us feel welcome and Ashley does a grat job as manager!

Excellent Service, 2016-07-09
Captain: , Dahlgren (50)

Although our sailboat required only a minimal amount of fuel and a pump out, Ashley greeted us with a helping hand and a smile. When we ended up getting a slip, Ashley met us there and helped us tie up. She is an exceptional representative for SYC and the town.

The floating docks are very convenient, the SYC members are friendly and helpful, and all the facilities were immaculate. Solomons Island is always a fun place to visit with tons of good restaurants and a nearby West Marine. SYC has complimentary bicycles if you don't want to walk.

Captain: , Solomons (17)

Awesome crew to help tie up boats. Great customer service. Fair prices and amzing view.This place has 9 full bathrooms in the club house and are kept very clean..Blue fish pub on the property also. Big swimming pool too!

beware new rates, 2016-05-12
Captain: , Fort Myers beach (40)

Ditto to earlier comments, not worth the cost. Can't get wifi, a mile from facilities and pool not open for the season but charging high season rates. Go somewhere else.

BEWARE - NEW RATES, 2016-05-06
Captain: , Sherrill, NY (51)

We just checked in and was told the rate was $2.50 a foot. The price here shows $1.50 a foot, which is what we have paid in previous years. They say they are under "NEW MANAGEMENT" and they have no access to change these rates that are listed. Make sure you get a quote before you come in!!!

could have stayed longer, 2015-11-21
Captain: , Gloucester (80)

Staff were very friendly. The young woman who took our reservation over the phone took the time to call us because she would not be there when we arrived. She gave us the info. We needed to get settled ( wi-fi password, bathroom code).
Off season. The prices were reasonable. Showers clean and more than adequate. The area is beautiful. Lots to explore within walking distance. Many shops and restaurants still open. Definitely could have stayed another day or so. One consideration, the grocery store and pharmacies etc. are two miles away. No taxi service.

Great fuel prices, good dock staff, very helpful, 2015-09-26
Captain: , Washington, DC (435)

We fueled there yesterday at @ $2.15/gallon; while they were fixing the pump out while we were there they offered us a hose to wash the salt off our deck and canvas as well as top up our tanks... we were a bit pinned to the dock by the wind and the highly skilled dockmaster? (I didn't get her name) helped us bow spring the stern off so we could safely back away. Highly recommended fuel stop.

BSF 8-22-2015, 2015-09-11
Captain: , Newport News, VA (117)

Stopped in to top off fuel tank and water. Owner was extremely friendly and helpful. Diesel was $2.14/gal.

Nice place - wifi a little slow, 2015-08-03
Captain: , St. Petersburg, FL (201)

Stayed here one night. Easy tie to the floating docks. Bathrooms clean and private. Nice pool. Provisions only 1.8 miles away (Food Lion). Only negative was the wifi was very slow and spotty (ended up switching to my mifi)

Poor service at fuel dock, 2015-06-18
Captain: , Oxford,MD (86)

Avoid this facility if you only need sailboat-quantities of fuel. The owner/dockmaster point blank stated he is only interested in serving his regular customers and that our $64 was merely an inconvenience to him and the waterman who pulled in just after us.

The trouble started after we fueled up when I asked for a water hose to fill one of my tanks. The dock attendant (who said he was also the owner) said I needed to either move "back" (kind hard when you're already at the extreme end of the dock) or go somewhere else. In a progressively more disagreeable manner he eventually offered to "cut our lines" (they were actually his) and then, begrudgingly gave us the water hose.

I'm not sure what precipitated the issue as there was hardly a boat moving in the creek, and just one oyster dredge that arrived and tied to the other end of the dock while we fueled. If the dock had been busy we would have been more understanding, but as it was he just gave the impression (and blatantly stated) he didn't want to be bothered with one-off customers.

On the upside, the fuel was well priced.

Price Increase, 2015-05-19
Captain: , Wichita Kansas (21)

Stopped here on 05/18/15. Seasonal dockage rates went to $2.10 per foot as of 05/01/15.

Seasonal Price Adjustment, 2015-05-19
Captain: , Louisiana, MO (391)

The "high season" has started as of May 2015 so the dock price is $2.10/ft through the summer.

Nice place, 2014-09-08
Captain: , Occoquan, VA (354)

Stayed here for a night last year (2013) no real negatives, I would go back again. Close to town and easy to tie up to. Nice pool and bar.

Enjoyed our stay, 2014-08-31
Captain: , Charleston, SC (30)

Althought he last review noted this was good for an short stop over, we had an extended visit here and were very pleased with the staff and services offered. Quintin is a very hard worker, in this boaters opinion, he could use more hellp. The folks who keep their boats their full time are super people and very friendly. They helped us out on more than one occasion. We will come back here.

Good spot to enjoy Solomons Island, 2014-07-28
Captain: , Deale, MD (347)

Good alternative to the larger marinas in the area. Newer floating docks. Adequate bath facilities. Pool and bar. Easy walk to restaurants on Solomons Island. You will hear the bands playing at the local bars. Short on staff, but very pleasant and helpful. Very few working bikes among the many that were there...they need to work on that or remove them.

Nice Marina for stopover, 2014-06-03
Captain: , St Pete Beach FL (82)

We stopped for fuel this afternoon....price was $3.72 for diesel. Decided to stay the night...skys were threatening. There are new floating docks both slips and t-docks with electric and water pedestals at each slip. The pool looked really nice (too chilly for me) and the bar/restaurant had a nice crowd. Bathrooms are newer and clean. We used their beach bikes for a ride around town....not the best but they worked. Wi-Fi is okay...worked for us with 3 to 4 bars. The lounge has TV, books, videos, etc.

Don't quite get the bad reviews. We had a good evening and you can beat the view across the bay looking up into Mills Creek and out into the river/bay. Very peaceful.

Stopped at China Harbor Bistro for was superb! China Harbor is also a very nice full service Chinese restaurant with full bar. Need the bike to get there about 1 mile down the road.

Hunky Dory
St. Pete Beach, FL

Basic and not much else, 2013-11-30
Captain: , Wiscasset, Maine (290)

We were disappointed, dock master didn't seem to care if we stayed or not. They said the would need us to move to another slip at some point, but required that we wait around for this to happen. Facilities were run down and seemed more suited to summer live aboards. We moved over to Zahnisers and we're very glad we did.

Nice but wi-fi can be very slow, 2013-10-23
Captain: , US East Coast (610)

the marina is nice enough but the wi-fi can be so slow that it is almost useless. Ended up using my own phone as hotspot at times since it was so bad. On the plus side, they do have FREE BIKES which was a great way to get around the island.

Excellent Facility work done well, 2013-09-20
Captain: , Gulf Breeze, Fl (6909)

New Owner is making improvements to the facility including the very nice bathroom suites. Three men's and womens roomy bathrooms all lockable suites with toilet, shower and sink.
Nice pool and bar overlooking the harbor entrance. 50 ton lift with a very competent operator and spotter the best I've seen. Had fibreglass work on a sea chest and the result was excellent, done quickly ands very neatly with swpecial attention to not spreading dust about the engine room or boat. Very happy customer.

Nice Marina; Easy Walk to Town, 2013-08-01
Captain: , Occoquan, VA (400)

Stayed one night with three other boats ~50' LOA during 8-day trip of Bay going North. Usually stay at other marinas while at Solomans' Isl, but SYC has advantage of being 1st marina up Back Creek and nearest to town--a huge advantage. They have nice amenities, to include a beautiful, albeit small, pool and a surprisingly great pool bar. They also let you bring your own beverages to the pool--another big plus for any trip. Also easy to get diesel at in-house gas dock. All-in-all, likely to be our future 1st choice in any future Soloman's trip.

Very nice stay!, 2012-07-15
Captain: , Va Beach, VA (151)

We spent two nights on very nice floating docks with good power and water. The marina is very nice, and the Dockmaster, Quinton, very helpful.
The BR/showers were clean and roomy, and the pool a welcome addition both afternoons.
We would definitely stay there again, and plan to do so.
(Per ft dockage is somewhat negotiable if you mention anchoring out as an option.)

Easy Overnight, 2012-03-30
Captain: , Suffolk, VA (171)

Stopped overnight on a trip south from Rock Hall via Herrington Harbor. Easy mooring at floating dock, T-head with 2 folks coming down to take lines; off-season, so obviously limited amenities but most important, bathrooms/showers were clean and individual which was a nice change. Short walk to a couple of restaurants.

No words to explain !!!, 2011-10-12
Captain: , Florida (22)

We loved staying here , your staff is amazing and very helpfull , thanks to your dockmaster. We got our 65ft in with no problems in that windy weather. Your marina is very clean and well taken care of. We love the bar and the restrooms/showers. I would recommend it to anyone who asked !!! Thanks guys and gal !

Never again!, 2011-09-23
Captain: , New Smyrna Beach, Fl. (200)

I don't know who rated this place 4 star, but I think it must have been the people who own the place. This is one of the most run down marinas I have ever stayed at. Batrooms are terrible and smell. I will shower on the boat. Paid for 3 nights but will be looking for a new place tomorrow.

Needs Management Change, 2011-07-26
Captain: , Daniel Island, SC (330)

This is a marina in a prime location, the only one in Solomons with floating docks, which is completely devoid of management disciplines. Dockhands are indifferent or poorly trained in the most basic skills; T-Head circuit breakers shot, requiring generator power all night; our reservation, confirmed twice, was not on record. We'll never be back until there is a major management change.

Nice stop on the Chesapaeke, 2011-07-03
Captain: , Beach haven NJ (510)

We only stayed one night but really liked this marina. Nice clean bathrooms, facilities, restaurant and bar. I would definetly like to come back some day.

A Nice Facility, 2011-05-09
Captain: , Jensen Beach FL (138)

Arrived in a 20 knt northly and the dockhand couldn't be more helpful. Very nice facilities, WIFI, Cable included. Electric a little pricey at $12.00 for a 50. Unfortunatly no dicounts. It does have the cheapest diesel in the area (and proud of it).

It's like coming home, 2011-04-19
Captain: , Kings Creek Marina (766)

What a swell marina. Great staff and very friendly transient community. Walking distance to some of the best restaurants on the bay. Very pleasant facilities including Bar-B-Q pits, pool, showers. Museums and libraries %u2013 something for everyone.

Easy-going, 2010-08-09
Captain: , Albemarle Plantation, NC (389)

Very pleasant location, great staff was very helpful, nice pool, easy walk or dink to shopping, easy dink to beach and bar. Relatively newly rebuilt facilities in aftermath of hurricane Isabel (2003).

Even a great airshow -- Patuxent River flies the Navy's newest aircraft. For airplane spotters this is the place: V-22, JSF, even C-17. Occasional (not continuous) air traffic. Not intrusively noisy although the local mantra is: "Jet Noise, the Sound of Freedom." Much less traffic than a typical airport.

Sure beats the other places, 2010-08-01
Captain: , Boca Raton, FL (1522)

7/23/10 First time there. Great Docks, dock hand was really helpful and directed us to the best Hamburgers on the planet. Short walk to Board Walk. Will go there from now on.

Tiki Hut Opening weekend!, 2010-04-19
Captain: , Annapolis, MD (310)

Great time, great location. Short walk to some great seafood, shops and bars. No BoatUS discounts. Only one fella working on Saturday but he was running wide open to be helpful. It was appreciated.

Mike & Julie
Sea Jules

A great place to be, 2009-12-09
Captain: , Solomons, MD (12)

The best is floating docks! Next is a great management group. Then there is a nice pool and club house and walking distance to town and many amenities. It just does not have room for a restaurant but plenty within walking distance. Fuel, pumpout, laundromat, bar, easy to reach docks...float!!

Solomons Yachting Center, 2009-08-20
Captain: , St. Petersburg, FL (330)

The marina is nice and well kept - we stayed one month and got a fair rate ($10/foot month plus metered elec.). They have a sailing center on-site. Floating docks and a do it yourself yard with travel lift. For cruising families, this marina is not necessarily kid friendly - their pool rules are strictly enforced and not all rules are written anywhere (e.g. absolutely no jumping in the pool). The town itself was absolutely wonderful - close by foot, restaurants galore, grocery close (one whole food/natural grocery and one food lion), west marine close. Local produce market on Thursdays which is great! Marina had courtesy bikes.

Nice Clean Marina, 2009-06-06
Captain: , New Rochelle, NY (1000)

A good stopover, 2007-11-14
Captain: , Alexandria VA (59)

We enjoyed an end of the season weekend at SYC. Solomon’s is a wonderful village and is much calmer this time of year though by no means lonely. It's very easy to walk almost anywhere from this marina with many nice shops and restaurants to choose from.
The SYC managers are nice folks and were very attentive and helpful. The marina has new bath/showers more like a motel room than a campground which we enjoyed at lot. All this with protected harbors, great bay access and autumn scenery make for a place we will stop often.

Letitia- Solomons Yacht Center, 2007-02-12
Captain: , Austin, Tx (1257)

We stayed 2 months here in 2004, stoped for short stay 2005. Liked the facility. Manager lives on property but owners elsewhere.
Getting somethings done was interesting.

Ads by Google