Details for Skull Creek Marina

Skull Creek Marina

Display in The Interactive Cruising Guidebook
Average rating 4.5 stars from 24 reviews

Address 1 Waterway Lane
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926


After hours contact

Angela Harriott, Emergency Only, 843-540-9569

Pro-Op message

Lowcountry charm. Convenience. Southern hospitality. Those are the hallmarks and traditions of Skull Creek Marina, located amid the sprawling oaks and Southern breezes in Hilton Head, South Carolina.

Skull Creek is a modern marina with the amenities boaters have come to expect with a little something extra: a genuine Southern welcome. There are modern concrete floating docks accommodating vessels up to 200 feet in length along with 24-hour privacy and security, competitively priced gasoline and diesel at the fuel dock and more. Skull Creek Marina is very conveniently located just off the Intracoastal Waterway with deepwater access to Port Royal Sound and nearby Atlantic Ocean.

In Hilton Head Island, there are plenty of additional amenities including golf, restaurants, beaches and shopping but many of our visitors prefer to remain close to the marina, spending their time enjoying the relaxing Lowcountry lifestyle for which the region is understandably famous.

And there's the friendly, professional staff, offering world-class hospitality and assistance at every step of the way in what we call a "customer-centric" approach, in a marina environment that's quiet, serene and peaceful. Visit as a guest, leave as a friend. That's the Skull Creek Marina advantage.

Facility type

Marina - YES
Club - NO
Fuel - YES
Repair - YES
Municipal - NO
Other - NO


Freedom Boat Club location, 843-682-2627.

VHF channel

16, 10


Email contact

Owner, manager

Angela Harriott, Marina Director


Angela Harriott


Angela Harriott

Payments acceptedCredit cards - YES
Checks - YES

Payment info

Payment discounts

Operation (seasonal or year-round)
Year round

Additional info: Open 8:00 am - 6:00 pm.


ICW mile marker 555.





Tide & current additional info


Approach: Unknown
Transient dockage: Unknown
Fuel dock: Unknown

Other depth info: Depths are 6-11 feet.

Dock typesWood - NO
Concrete - YES
Floating - YES
Fixed - NO
T/Alongside - YES
Other - NO

Additional info: They also have additional transient dockage available on the fuel dock for easy in and 1 night stays.

Size restrictionsLOA max: 200
Beam max: 30

Other info: Face docks will accomodate the larger boats.


Transient: 30
Total: 165
Transient price: $1.50/ft (2016-05-06)

Other price info: 30 amp single or 50 amp electric is included. Transient rate is $1.75 per foot if additional power is required.
$1.50 per foot per night for anything greater.
** Electric is included.


Transient: Unknown
Total: Unknown
Transient price: Unknown

Other price info:

AC power30 amp - YES
50 amp - YES
100 amp - NO

Additional info:

Pricing info: Electric included in transient pricing.

Cable TV (and pricing)


Phone hookup (and pricing)


Water (and pricing)


Dinghy access

Yes - Check in with dockhouse after securing to dinghy dock.

Liveaboard info

Yes - Limited number of permanent liveaboards allowed. Seasonal and weekends allowed.


Fuel brand: Valvetect

Gas priceUnknown

Other price info: Captain's Discount: $0.10 off per gallon.
Over 100 gallons: $0.10 off per gallon.

Diesel priceUnknown

Other price info:


No - Available within 3 miles.

Pets welcomeYes

Other pet info: The grounds are very pet friendly.

Disability access

Yes - All ramps.

Launch service


Pump out

Yes - Both at fuel dock and with a pump out boat.










Yes - Dryer usage is free.


Yes - Transportation is needed.


Yes - Ace and West Marine are in the area, and cabs are available.


Yes - There are four waterfront restaurants located right around the corner. Complimentary bicycles.


Yes - Within biking distance.

Hotels or motels

Yes - Transportation is needed.

Repair capabilities


Haul out capabilities

Yes - MarineTech Services on site: 30 ton travel lift with a 15 foot maximum beam.

Storage facilities

Yes - In slip storage is allowed.

Fishing supplies


Chartering capabilities

Internet access

Yes - WiFi is free. Cell service is good.

Boat ramp availability



Yes - Taxis are available on the island. The marina staff can help you arrange for one that will come quickly to the marina.

Other services


Golf at Hilton Head Country Club.

Reviews for Skull Creek Marina
SKull Creek, 2016-04-18
Captain: , Bay St. Louis, MS (120)

4/18/16 Nice docks, very clean bathrooms, good deal on laundry, and very nice people here. Got a discount for AGLCA membership. I wouldn't have any problems with stopping here again.

Management response:
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate you staying with us and hope you will do so again.
Safe travels,
Angela :)

Nice well protected marina., 2015-12-24
Captain: , Apponaug R.I. (768)

Right off the ICW. We were met with very capable dock hands. Well protected from any direction. Great staff. We were being chased south by cold weather. We would have eppreciated heated showers, had to turn on the heaters when you enter. Brrr!.

Management response:
We appreciate you staying with us! We apologize for the chilly shower! We provide the heaters for our customers to prevent that, with the doors constantly opening and closing its proven to be difficult to retain the heat.
We will see what we can do to correct this and hope you will come and stay with us again :)

Skull Creek marina, 2015-12-12
Captain: , Leamington, Ontario (620)

Us 47 foot sailboat, 6' draft. Coming in at slack tide to dock a good idea, pretty good cross current otherwise. Nice docks, clean washroom/showers. Not much for provisioning close by, great staff!

Management response:
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a super nice review!

Tough night on the fuel dock, 2015-11-27
Captain: , Hobe Sound, Florida (450)

By pre-arrangement, we arrived the day before Thanksgiving after the marina had closed for the holiday weekend and everyone had gone home. Normally, that would not have been an issue, and we were grateful to be accommodated, but the wind was blowing 20 plus knots in the same direction as the current was running, perpendicular to the dock, so we could not get on the inside despite six tries. We finally tied up on the outside, which worked until the current turned after darkness had fallen, and then the waves stacked up and rolled us against the dock for hours. We waited for slack the next morning, moved to the inside, and spent a beautiful Thanksgiving Day walking the neighborhoods and a far more comfortable night. In our several phone conversations, Angela, the marina manager, could not have been more helpful even had she been there. Only suggestion would be to provide some accessible trash receptacles on the docks and to warn transients about the perils of the fuel dock in advance.

Management response:
Good morning! Thank you for the time involved in writing a review. We regret we missed you being closed on Thanksgiving Day and appreciate you understanding that we do so to allow our team to be with their families.
I apologize if I could have been more clear on the when we talked on the phone concerning the current and gave you the option of slip vs. fuel dock and the conditions of the winds at your proposed arrival time.
On a side note, there are 3 trash receptacles located by the dockhouse at the top of the pier. Perhaps we will consider putting a sign there. It has been brought to our attention here recently, as we have them placed to not be an eyesore.
We greatly appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon.

Nice facility, nice bathrooms, shower had lots of hot water., 2015-11-15
Captain: , Chicago, Racine, Fish Creek,Wi (1900)

We stopped for a night after two days on the hook. Nice showers and got laundry done. Just pay for wash the dryer is free. Used the provided bikes and went to Skull creek boatyard restaurant about 1.3 miles away. You could dingy there also. Friendly staff and floating docks. Make sure to arrive at slack current to make docking easy. The south side of the gas dock has better wake protection if you have the choice. So glad we stopped here.

Management response:
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to comment. :)

Best ladies bathroom in 10,000 miles, 2015-11-05
Captain: , Bay City, MI (609)

Want to feel like you are in a fancy hotel? Crown molding, wainscoating, granite and a fancy faucet? Hairdryier and makeup mirror? Amazing, newly remodeled bathrooms. In 10,000 miles of cruising, I have never seen anything like it.

Great staff. They are there for you!

One negative, make sure you get a pass if you are going to be driving into the Hilton Head Plantation. We were with friends and they wouldn't let us back in without calling the cavalry. You also need a code to get back in with your bike. Your friends will need a pass to pick you up at the marina. Check with the office.

Quiet place and you need a bike to get anywhere, but if you have a bike, there are restaurants and Harris Teeter is 3.7 miles away. Is there a better supermarket?

The marsh area is beautiful at all times of day and if you are interested in history, old Fort Mitchel and Talbird Cemetery are right next door (in between multimillion dollar condos).

Perhaps too quiet for some. Not many transients or people, despite the Country Club of Hilton Head directly across from the driveway.

Pricing is reasonable at $1.50 per foot with $0 for electric.

Management response:
Wow! What an amazing detailed review, we greatly appreciate the effort and time involved in creating this comment!
We are working diligently to improve the easy in/out of the plantation.
Our complimentary bikes are a hit and we have a welcome sheet of cab companies and such for your convenience.
We hope you come back and stay with us soon to enjoy the the friendly, professional staff, offering world-class hospitality and assistance at every step of the way in what we call a "customer-centric" approach, in a marina environment that's quiet, serene and peaceful. Visit as a guest, leave as a friend. That's the Skull Creek Marina advantage.

A Great Stop, 2015-10-25
Captain: , Castine, Maine (2964)

This is our second stop at Skull Creek Marina. During our last stay there was much work being done on the docks and redoing the dockmaster's office including the bathrooms and laundry area. The work is now complete and looks great. The staff is still helpful and inviting. The community surrounding the marina is quite lovely. There are wide walkways throughout. We took our canine crew members out for a long and pleasant walk. If you are into golf check with the office as there are some nice looking courses. There are several restaurants that you can ether walk to or take a cab - the information is provided in the Welcome Packet. We had pizza delivered to the boat for a quiet evening on board with the crew.

This is an easy stop literally on the ICW with deep water access. The perfect stop for a night or stay and relax for a spell. Make sure to give it a try.

Management response:
Thank you so much, Karen! We appreciate y'all staying with us again. Safe travels to all of you :)

Decent Stop on the ICW, 2015-07-25
Captain: , North Charleston, SC (622)

June 2015 was the second time we've stopped here. We decided it was way too hot to continue anchoring each night so Scull Creek Marina was a convenient stop.

The dockhands are competent and friendly, the docks are in good shape, the fuel price was reasonable and the restrooms and showers were modern and clean.

I don't believe there are restaurants or anything else within walking distance so we ate boat food and walked the puppy.

Management response:
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a comment. We have 4 waterfront restaurants within biking distance.
We apologize if you were not fully informed of this during your stay. We have sent you a private message to compensate you for the inconvenience. :)

Good value in a luxury town, 2015-07-14
Captain: , Honolulu (531)

Skull Harbor is at the north end of Hilton Head in a residential area. There are many attractions within a few miles, but nothing on site. The marina is modern and well kept. Their rates are very competitive, less than $100 for two nights with electric. The Coastal Discovery Center is just a few miles away, well worth a stop.

Management response:
Capt. Bill, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We are a peaceful, serene marina located inside a plantation. We hope you will join us again. :)

Very nice marina & great staff, 2015-07-01
Captain: , Traverse City, Mi (281)

We spent a night hee on our way north. We picked up fuel befre docking and the two dock hands were fantastic. They met us at the fuel dock and were at our assigned dock to assist us there after we fueled. All smiles even in 100 degree heat. Nice marina. Would stop here again.

Management response:
Thank you so much! We are very proud of our hard working TEAM.

Lunch Visit, 2015-05-27
Captain: , Spring Island, SC (10)

We have stopped by twice during the last few weeks. Staff has been very helpful when docking,
friendly and accommodating. They loan you free bicycles and give you directions for a very pleasant ride to several local restaurants. Good fuel prices, but the pump is rather slow if you are purchasing a large quantity. A great lunch stop.

Management response:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, we hope to see you all again!
Our pump/nozzles are better for large pumping, please stop back by and give us another try :)

Beautiful Stop - Great Marina, 2015-05-09
Captain: , Michigan (60)

We decided to stay here for a couple of days to avoid tropical storm Ana. The dock hands were excellent, helping us get tied up in very high winds. We took advantage of the loaner bikes, which were in great condition, to explore Hilton Head Plantation and go to dinner at the Boathouse (which was very good). The price and facilities are a great value!

Management response:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, we hope to see you all again!

Very good spot, 2015-05-09
Captain: , Venice (589)

Tired of dealing with strong north winds we got a tie-up on the southern face dock - very sheltered. Very nice staff and good rates

Management response:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, we hope to see you all again!

Fantastic stop, 2015-04-21
Captain: , The Villages, FL (368)

Top notch facility, and very friendly staff, especially Michael, the young man who assisted us on the fuel dock. He went out of his way to be friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Despite meeting many boaters and hearing many stories, he seemed genuinely interested in ours...and even looked at our photos. And he shared his recipe for Gnat repellent with us.

We didn't stay nearly long enough this visit but hope to on our way back south.

Showers and restrooms were new, and air-conditioned. Only one shower for the men and one for the women BUT we didn't had to wait and this was the nicest shower I have seen at any marina after years of cruising. There was even a hairdryer.

Oh, and lots of dolphins.

Management response:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, we hope to see you all again!

One night stay - very nice, 2015-03-30
Captain: , Cape Coral, FL (1476)

We stayed one night when traveling north. Met on the fuel dock by two dock hands - helpful because the current is strong and perpendicular to the dock. Was pulled way in and stayed the night just under the Dockmaster's House, next to the fuel pumps. Very quiet and much less current there. Beautiful facility, recently upgraded, bathrooms are gorgeous. Staff is very friendly and very helpful. Nothing nearby for services, but a beautiful place to walk for exercise or dog walking. The Boathouse at Skull Creek just oustside the gates is fantastic - get there early or expect to wait, but worth the wait!

Management response:
Thank you so much for taking the time for a review. We are happy to share that we now have Marine Tech Services in our service yard and convenience of a haul out. We hope you will come by and stay with us again soon.

Much improved!, 2015-02-05
Captain: , Breckenridge, CO (21)

We came for a month last fall and stayed for three! Angela and her staff could not have been more friendly and helpful during the upgrading of the facility. Scenery & sunsets are unequalled overlooking the marshes. No fixed bridges for tall rigs to clear coming from offshore and Port Royal Sound easily accessible within 10 mins from the marina. Dinghy to several good restaurants nearby. Enjoy miles of Hilton Head bike paths on the new loaner bikes. Can't wait to return!

Management response:
Wow! What a wonderful review, thank you so much. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

The NEW Skull Creek, 2015-01-21
Captain: , New York, NY (10)

We stayed there and were very pleasently surprised, Beautiful docks, showers and bathrooms.

Management response:
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with Skull Creek Marina! We hope to see you again soon.

Clean and reasonable, 2015-01-15
Captain: , Clayton, NY (645)

Lot of current here but dock hands were very patient and helpful. Remodeled bathrooms. Nice walking path around the community.

Management response:
We appreciate you sharing your stay with Skull Creek Marina and we hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Over nighter, 2015-01-05
Captain: , North Myrtle Beach, SC (61)

Fuel prices low. Wifi good, Friendly Staff, Pet friendly. The only bad thing I have to say about this Marina is there is nothing withing walking distance. Had I known this I probably would of gone down to the next or another Marina. but that's not the Marinas fault. They could get a Curtisy car.

Management response:
Thank you for the review, Captain. We would love for you to try us again. We have complimentary bicycles and 6 restaurants within less than a mile of us, including 4 waterfront. We would like to have the opportunity to show you what we have to offer if you are in this area again. :)

Fuel Stop 29 Dec, 2014-12-30
Captain: , Colonial Beach, VA (590)

Using Active Captain found fuel prices very low ($2.92) on 29 Dec. Stopped to fill up and found a friendly competent staff. May return to stay an evening. As we stopped at noon we felt we needed to continue for the day.

Management response:
Thank you for the review and the fuel sale! We strive to keep our fuel prices as the lowest on the Island.
Come on back and stay with us soon ;)

Getting Better, 2014-12-14
Captain: , Southport, ME, USA (1158)

Had not been here for about 18 months and found things much improved. The efforts of the new management show. The office area and bathroom/showers have been completely redone, and are great. The general appearance of the place is improved. There are new loaner bikes for guest use.

Management response:
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. We are working diligently to improve the overall experience at Skull Creek Marina. Come see us again soon!

Getting Better, 2014-12-04
Captain: , Annapolis (424)

There is obvious efforts to improve SCM under new management, but missteps with current prediction and slip assignment limited their rating to four stars. Concerned about current when docking, we called them several times and got three different indications of when slack water was. In the end we arrived at slack but made some significant speed changes on the way down the coast based on the predictions. The slips were told to be 19' wide but that looks to be on piling centers and with the full length finger piers impimnging into the slip it made the entry a bit iinteresting for a 16' beam. Also, the pier we were assigned had no water due to upgrades to the system on that pier.
Having said this, Angela Harriott, the marina manager, is doing everything she can to make the marina the best it can be. Her concern that transients are happy with the marina is apparent. She offered to move us to the fuel dock for water, etc. but we declined. The heads have been recently updated and are very nice, especially the women's. Five new aluminum California cruiser bikes are available for loan. The WiFi was very good.
We'll be back.

Management response:
Thank you so much for your review. We greatly appreciate our guests taking the time to post, whether positive or not so that we can improve. We are working on giving better info when expecting guests and do hope you come back to see us again soon! We are also finalizing the replacement of all of our water lines and are happy to say that project will be completed this week. Again, thank you for choosing Skull Creek Marina.
Safe travels :)

Good for an overnight or longer, 2014-12-03
Captain: , Solomons, MD (161)

Great stop right on the ICW. As indicated excellent resturaunts within walking distances. The office is being rennovated, and the ladies head/shower facilities have been renovated and in excellent condition. Men's facilities are quite good as well. As of our visit "H" and "I" docks had no water as the entire water system is being rennovated. If you need water make sure they put you on a dock with an operable water system. The pilings for the slips are 19 feet on center. Minus the two halves of the finger peirs you're looking at a very scant 16+ feet wide. Tight fit for wider beams.
The dock crew seems to lack a bit of coordination between answering radio calls and understanding your docking needs. They'll get better with time. It's clear money and effort are being invested to make this a first class marina. The crew is very willing to help and once the rennovations are in place they'll be a top rated facility.

Management response:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review!
We appreciate you noticing the hard work of our team members and are sure to share your reviews with them. We are making finishing touches on the dockhouse and are planning on the completion of the new water lines to finalize next week, weather permitting.
We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced from the lack of communication on the water being out on the slip you were placed in/understanding your docking needs. We have a new team member that reserved for you, and I apologize as I was faulty in that situation. We do have slips with wider dimensions for those that need it as well as our fuel dock. Again, I apologize and sincerely hope you all will come stay with us again soon. We greatly appreciate your comments as they help us to improve on becoming the marina of choice in our area!

Great couple of days, 2014-11-15
Captain: , Rock Hall, MD (135)

Alex & Mike tend the docks and were very helpful docking, moving and fueling our boat. They remained extremely helpful throughout our stay.
The current can be tricky, so look for the red stick fastened to the end of the fuel dock. It points to where the current is coming from. Dock on the down-current side so getting off the dock is possible.
The marina is under renovation. During our stay we noticed the offices were being painted and reconfigured. The water lines to the docks were being replaced. And the bathrooms and showers had just been upgraded. The laundry was OK and you are charged only for washing, drying is free.
The Hilton Head Country Club is across the street and has reciprocal privilages with the marina, so we had dinner there. Next evening we took the suggestion of a slip-holder and had dinner at the Old Fort Pub Restaurant. Gourmet! Excellent.
The people at and around the marina were fabulous. We'll stay again.

Management response:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review!
We appreciate you noticing the hard work of our team members and are sure to share your reviews with them. We are making finishing touches on the dockhouse and are planning on the completion of the new water lines to finalize next week, weather permitting. We agree and would like to tell you that our laundry room is one of the items next on the list :)
Again, we greatly appreciate your time and do hope you will come stay with us again soon!

Ads by Google