Details for Salty Sam's Marina

Salty Sam's Marina

Display in The Interactive Cruising Guidebook
Average rating 3.6 stars from 47 reviews

Address 2500 Main St
Fort Myers Beach, FL 33919

Phone239-463-7333 (Fax: 239-463-3947)

After hours contact

Facility type

Marina - YES
Club - NO
Fuel - YES
Repair - YES
Municipal - NO
Other - NO

VHF channel



Email contact;

Owner, manager



Richie Treacy

Payments acceptedCredit cards - YES
Checks - NO

Payment info

Payment discounts

Operation (seasonal or year-round)
Year round

Additional info:


Follow the nav aids into the Fort Myers Beach area very carefully. It is easy to look at the boats on the western mooring and too easy get out of the channel. Look for daybeacon #28.





Tide & current additional info


Approach: 9
Transient dockage: 5.5
Fuel dock: 7

Other depth info:

Dock typesWood - NO
Concrete - YES
Floating - YES
Fixed - NO
T/Alongside - NO
Other - NO

Additional info:

Size restrictionsLOA max: 225
Beam max: Unknown

Other info:


Transient: 88
Total: 135
Transient price: $1.90/ft (2017-07-12)

Other price info: Monthly: $680.00 per month plus liveaboard fee of $60 per month. Dockage plus tax.

$2.03 per foot on a T-dock for a 58 foot boat.

No gates to the docks so you get a lot of foot traffic looking at the boats, especially on C dock where all the peple on the pirate cruise walk by.


Transient: Unknown
Total: 0
Transient price: Unknown

Other price info: Salty Sams no longer controls the mooring field. It is now run by the Mantanzas Inn.

AC power30 amp - YES
50 amp - YES
100 amp - NO

Additional info:

Pricing info: $6.95 for 30 amp.
$8.95 for 50 amp.
$18.00 for 100 amp.

Cable TV (and pricing)


Phone hookup (and pricing)


Water (and pricing)


Dinghy access


Liveaboard info



Fuel brand: Deep water fuel dock. Can service at least a 57' boat.

Gas priceUnknown

Other price info: Includes Taxes.

Diesel priceUnknown

Other price info: Includes Taxes.


Yes - Nearby

Pets welcomeYes

Other pet info: Accepted.

Disability access


Launch service


Pump out

Yes - At slip.






Yes - Two showers are available.


Yes - Heads available in shower rooms and also in the restaurant.


Yes - Laundry includes three washers and dryers.


Yes - Accessible by bus and one mile walk. Snacks onsite.




Yes - Great restaurant on site called Parrot Key. Live music 7 nights a week. If you are a Green Bay Packers fan, the GB Packers Football Club meets there for the games. Great place to watch any game due to the many large screen TVs. Just added a sports type bar/restaurant next door.


Yes - On site at Parrot Key.

Hotels or motels

Yes - Nearby

Repair capabilities

Yes - Hull, engine, propeller, cleaning, bottom detail and general mainiainance. Charge $50.00 for off site contractors, so if you need warranty work from dealer will add $50.00 to the bill, which of course is not covered by the warranty.

Cruise Cool provides dockside marine AC, refrigeration, and minor electrical service, installation and repair service provider. Located at 2367 Linwood Way Naples, FL. They are available to service your vessel 7 days a week. 239-775-9292 or 239-309-8339. Doug and Darsey Gabbard - Owner/Operators.

Haul out capabilities

Yes - 13 ton lift.

Storage facilities

Yes - Large storage building for boats up to about 30 feet.

Fishing supplies

Yes - Bait

Chartering capabilities

Yes - Fishing and sailing charters.

Internet access

Yes - WiFi - Available with cost.

Boat ramp availability



Yes - No courtesy car, bus available one mile away. Also cabs available.

Other services

Moorings available.


Two mile walk to Ft. Myers Beach. Additional restaurants and beach shopping. Pirate Cruise ship and casino cruise ship nearby.

Reviews for Salty Sam's Marina
Not so Good, 2017-07-16
Captain: , Apollo Beach - Tampa, FL (361)

Overnight stop over sailing to Key West. Management and staff more interested in the boat rental business than assisting sailors paying top dollar for a night slip. Not able to accommodate me in a much-needed pump-out. Was told they can%u2019t get to me for a full day. Needed to sail on to Key West. Was accommodated without any hassle for a pump-out at Moss Marina on the way out. Very disappointed. Facilities are nice but my experience was not so nice. Not returning. Better options in the Ft. Myers area.

Salty Sams left a salty taste in my mouth., 2017-05-27
Captain: , Destin, FL (180)

I started and ended my trip here. I tried to get them to sling my boat off the trailer and on the trailer. No luck so I had to use the boat ramp (didn't want my new trailer dipped in salt water). Would not do it on the weekend going into the water and then wanted $350 to put it back on the trailer. I've never paid more than $75 anywhere. Several of the dock hands were very rude (couple were nice). Won't go back.

Great pre-KeyWest stop, 2017-04-30
Captain: , Apollo Beach (542)

Nice place to stop before heading to Key West. The bathrooms aren't as nice as venice, but no ones on the west coast are.... Staff was friendly and helpful although focus on the rental business as I'm sure that is the cash generator. Docks were floating and clean. Resturant on site served a nice meal. Wouold stay again if in Ft Myers.

Fun stop but lots of traffic, 2017-03-30
Captain: , Wilmington, NC (520)

There are three places to eat here, and entertainment at two of them. The slip was great and the guys that helped us back in with one engine were perfect! Two things to note - first, the docks are open to everyone looking at boats and, second, the boat rental crowd seems to take precedent over the folks who are in the slips. It does quiet down around 9:30 pm so that makes it worth a night or two.

Fine marina for the money, 2017-01-06
Captain: , Clear Lake Shores TX (270)

We enjoyed our stay. the dock master and crew were very helpful. It is certainly a busy place with rentals coming and going. The staff seems to have gotten the message on bird poop. Someone was cleaning the docks every morning.

Fun, interesting place to stay in Fort Myers Beach, 2016-12-30
Captain: , Fort Myers, FL (722)

Floating concrete docks!! Dockmaster runs a tight ship (for everyone's enjoyment). Very helpful staff. Good gift shop. Lively atmosphere with live music nightly. Lots going on with the Pirate cruise ship, hi-speed ferry boat to Key West, and rental (pontoon) boats all operating from here.

Don't like power boaters who moor/anchor, 2016-12-07
Captain: , Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH (400)

Charges $5.00 for 10 gallons of water. 200 gallons would be $100 and they don't have a meter to measure. Seems pretty expensive.

Just love the place, 2016-11-26
Captain: , pensacola (40)

If you love good food, live entertainment this is the place. The bird pup can be a problem but i just wash it away myself. i love being in the middle of all the entertainment. Other restaurants are close by and you can dinghy across the bay to the beach or grocery store. it's in one of the canal just ask other boaters how to get there.

A Really Mixed Bag, 2016-11-24
Captain: , St. Louis, MO (1850)

So much potential. There are a lot of positives, but just a couple of negatives really made our stay not so positive. First, the positives: The service department was terrrific. They performed a simple battery check for us in short time after our placing the work order. It was fast, efficient and surprizingly inexpensive. Around the clock access to the toilets and showers was spot on. The facility is bright, happy and fun. Lots of people hanging around. Boat rentals and fishing charters. Everything was cheery and entertaining. The staff was very cheerful and desiring to be helpful. But it was here that things started to fall apart a bit. While the staff was for the most part helpful, they weren't neccessarily competent. Their service seemed a bit ragged and inconsistent. For instance, like some other commenters commented, there is not a grocery store nearby. When I asked about how I needed to work that out, no one had an answer. The question stymied them. Provisioning is a key need of cruising boaters. How about a flyer that explains what the options to do that are? Another commenter mentioned a shuttle. What shuttle? This is the first I've heard of a shuttle. It's as if the staff's knowledge started and ended at their service counter. If it was off the property, they were clueless. We boaters are smart, resourceful people. Just give us information and we'll figure it out. Now, the other negative thing for me has also already been mentioned in these reviews: CLEAN THE BIRD POOP OFF OF DOCK C DAILY! It really is disgusting. Because of the fishing charters there are a lot of seabirds hanging around on the docks. I know you can't keep them away, but you can clean up after them. We have stayed at many marinas where it is the first task to be done in the mornings. (The "new guy" ususally gets the job.)
Salty Sam's could become a favorite destination with lots of cruising boaters, but they just need to tighten the lid on some things: work on improving core competence of the staff, have more information available to boaters about local resources, and clean the bird poop. There is a lot of potential.

Very Nice Marina, 2016-11-05
Captain: , Cincinnati, OH (110)

We have stayed here twice for winters. Nice concrete floating docks, weekly pump out service at you slip, Two nice restaurants on site. Plenty of places within walking distance except groceries, but there is a trolley that you can take to Walmart. We took our dinghy over to the free dock under the bridge and walked to Ft Myers Beach including the shops and restaurants. If you like to walk, you can easily walk across the bridge to the beach or Doc Fords too. This is by far the nicest marina in the Ft Myers Beach area. There is a store next to the shrimp boats where you can buy fresh shrimp and other seafood. Nice laundry and showers too. Highly recommend.

Bird poop galore, 2016-10-26
Captain: , Fort Myers Beach, FL (10)

We have been here on the transient doc for 3 weeks and overall the staff and the docks are great. Our most serious complaint is the staff's refusal to wash down the bird poop from the docks. This is the first time we have seen a marina company to simply refuse to wash down the bird poop. We just don't understand why marina management does not see this as a priority to maintaining customer satisifaction.

Awesome Marina, 2016-10-18
Captain: , St Pete Beach florida (95)

We have stayed 3 times now. Really a treat with Boat US. Floating docks and a good restaurant. Clean restrooms and sowers. For the price it sure beats hanging on the hook. Just my thought.

try to reach someone to inquire about slips? useless, 2016-08-30
Captain: , Elkton, Md. (36)

tried contacting them in the spring 2016 about a slip but all info points to a website for reservations - I got a quote of over $2000/month for a 32 foot boat, no ability to telephone anyone for more info as no telephone is listed on their website.

Nicest lil marina in town!, 2016-07-27
Captain: , Largo, FL (10)

We were planning a 1 night stay at this marina on our way to Key West. After some boat problems, we had to stay 2 extra nights. The staff were extremely nice & understanding & helped us with everything we needed. We dined at the restaurant also & the food & drinks were great! A short walk down the street to the local trolley to the beach. Will definitely stop & stay here again!

Can't Dock Before 4:00 PM, 2016-02-08
Captain: , Punta Gorda, FL (216)

We had 20 boats booked for New Years Eve and the dockmaster was telling our boats that started coming in around noon to go anchor somewhere because he was not letting them in until 4:00 pm. After some intense words he finally found places for all our boats. This was an awful experience. We also ate at the restaurant for New Years Eve. The food was not good, overpriced and the makeshift band was bad.

Management Response, 2016-02-08
Captain: , Salty Sams Marina (10)

We would like to offer a response to the latest two reviews. We would like to start off by apologizing that your experience at our marina was not as it should have been. We do not shun the mooring guests, but we charge for deisel fuel with a standard mark up. We wish the price would be lower as well for fueling our own equipment. As for the New Year's Eve docking, we were at capacity for that night and needed time to open up the slips. This would be similar to checking into a hotel. There is a standard check in time to allow for the marina staff to get the docks ready for the incoming customers. As for the experience in the restaurant, let it be known that we will not be bringing that band back. They were recommended to us by another entertainer we use, but were just as upset about their performance as you were. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences at our marina and we hope these certain situations will not deter you from giving Salty Sam's Marina a visit once again.

Do NOT go here!, 2016-01-26
Captain: , Maine (84)

Lousy food, raw chicken... to boot, they want $3.35 a gallon for diesel and $2.50 a GALLON for WATER! Clearly they are trying to SHUN the mooring field people. We will never stop here again. What a change, sadly for the worse.

What a deal! Great marina!, 2016-01-16
Captain: , Pt Bay Marina, Charlotte Vt (95)

This place was great before but they just implemented a new policy. 50% off transient dockage with Boat U.S.. $1.90/ ft becomes .95/ ft! No deal like this around here. Great new floating docks too! Two great restaurants. $5.00 hamburgers!

Don't go there, 2016-01-14
Captain: , Bay City, MI (730)

We have a Grand Banks 42 and have traveled well over 10,000 miles. Our visit at Salty Sams was the first time a harbormaster literally measured our boat and defined LOA as our boat LOA plus bow pulpit, anchor and swim platform. Instead of 42 feet, their definition of LOA is 48 feet. The price is cheap, but he told me "if you don't pay the difference, I will come untie your lines from the dock."

Never been treated so rudely at a marina. If they want to measure differently than every other marina, put it on the website and be honest about your practices. We would have been happy to pay a higher price and not have been treated like criminals.

Really enjoyed our stay, 2015-01-09
Captain: , Atlanta (770)

We had boat here from 12/12/14 to 1/5/15 so we could go home for Christmas. Walked several times to Ft. Myers Beach - about 15 minutes to main highway, then another 15 minutes across bridge to Times Square on FMB. We also dinghied over to public dinghy dock at base of bridge near Nervous Nellie's - much faster, easier, buy less exercise.

Restaurants on-site were handy and decent, but not special. The pump-ouy issue mentioned elsewhere is a little weird, but as we understand it, they schedule pumpouts for one day of the week at $10. if you need pumpout another day, it is $25 ( or that may be $ for people not staying at the marina). No charge for water at the slip.

Staff helpful, nice. We had outboard motor shipped there while we were gone, they called to let us know it was ther and held it till we returned.

Again, the location with easy access to FMB was a great plus. There is a Publix and a hardware store on the island, and the trolley makes access to them doable, if not exactly easy.

New Year 2014, 2015-01-04
Captain: , Norwalk (293)

This is a good marina. As they are busy with boat rentals staff are very busy. However everyone is polite and helpful. Marina is well kept and access is easy. It would be good for more staff to be hired so that not everyone looks breathless most of the time.

stay away from here, 2014-04-21
Captain: , St Joe (159)

bought fuel here several times during my stay in the mooring field. After buying fuel, they tried to charge me $5 for filling a 5 gallon jug of water. Went in the office to complain and was told that it was $5 for up to 10 gallons of water. Ridiculous rip off for pump outs and water and everytghing else.

$25.00 Pump Out, 2014-03-20
Captain: , Kent Island, MD (392)

We stayed here last Friday, 3/14, and probably would have given a strong 4 Star review. We left Sat, came back Tuesday, requested a Pumpout, and were told, apologetically, that there was a $25.00 charge. A $25.00 charge for a Pumpout! The dock hands and staff are great, the facility is good, but a $25.00 Pumpout is a ripoff. I hope the management reads the Marina Minute and the reviews because a $25.00 Pumpout is an INSULT!

Awesome service dept, 2014-03-16
Captain: , San Marcos, TX (865)

Brought our Tohatsu o/b to Dustin for repair. Left it with him and received a call about an hour later that it was ready. Outstanding service.

worth the stop, 2014-03-12
Captain: , Boca Raton, FL (1421)

Expected to go to the Ft Myers city docks but came here instead. Glad we did. Nice floating dock. Great dock staff. Ships store great. Good restaurant/bar on site. Traffic to get to beach side is bad so contact the water taxi ( and Capt Al will take you anywhere you want. Only problem with the area, not the marina, is not a good breakfast place close. Closest one that you can walk to is terrible.

Honda outboard repair, 2014-02-22
Captain: , Essex, CT (295)

We came in for help with a 30HP Honda outboard that overheating. We had spoken with Dustin Nealeigh the service manager the week before and he made certain that he had a water pump service kit and a water pump for our engine in stock. Dockage the night before was free and Dustin and the service technician, Sean, were on our boat before 9 the next morning. Sean replaced the necessary parts in the shop without having to switch out the entire unit and then went on to troubleshoot the problem finding that the telltale was blocked by salt accumulation.

Floating Docks, 2014-02-14
Captain: , Chicago, IL (1056)

Concrete floating docks are in great shape. Current can make docking on the T's a challenge, easier at slack tide, dock hands monitor channel 17 and are usually available to assist with docking. Main focus of the marina is the commercial business - boat rentals, fishing charters, the pirate ship, lots of tourists on the docks during high season - few amenities for the liveaboard boater. During high season traffic is a nightmare unless you get all your shopping done before 9AM.

Good dockage and great restaurant, 2013-05-06
Captain: , Punta Gorda, Fl (960)

This is a great lunch stop. We have docked overnight several times also. Good floating dock. Great ship store. Showers long walk from docks, but very clean. Salty Sams great food/bar. No pool. If you want to get to the beach, you have to take the trolley which is a long walk to catch. Not a safe bike ride across the bridge. During high season getting to the beach is an issue.
Pirate Ship here to catch for birthday/party cruise.

poor service, 2013-03-17
Captain: , Buffalo (832)

We bought a brand new 5hp Honda engine from a dealer in Stuart and it would not start, so Honda sent me to the local dealer for warranty work. What I found out was that they could service it, but they actually did not sell them; they could order them for you. Our motor was on our boat 1/4 mile away and they wanted $99 per hour (minimum) for the pick up and again for the delivery. $200 for warranty work to be done. We refused.

up date current information , 2012-12-18
Captain: , S Pasadena, FL (20)

Now offering a special for pump out on Tuesdays. $15 discount on Tuesday or $10 for pump out. This info for planning only

Always wonderful, 2012-12-02
Captain: , st petersburg, fl (96)

We love this place! We stop by everytime we pass through. The staff extremely friendly and helpful. Wonderful lighted boat parade this year. Lots of foot traffic but that doesn't bother us. We don't sail to be hermits. Everyone should stop here at least once. See Connie and Sue in the ship's store! Also George Tabor 239-425-5710 for all your dive needs.

It keeps getting better, 2012-05-18
Captain: , Hudson (274)

Stopped for a couple of days to wait out the weather and had a great time. Both restaurants on site offer very good food. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Great floating docks, convenient dining, 2012-04-04
Captain: , Dunedin, FL (7374)

We saw previous reviews concerning the noise and foot traffic, in our opinion just part of the ambience of the place. Our dog Duke loved all the attention from the kids headed for the pirate boat. Showers were clean, water hot. Public restrooms behind the restaurant, but you could also use restroom at the shower house. Enjoyed sitting on the deck at night listening to the band inside Parrot Key restaurant. Docks could use more frequent hose down of the bird droppings.

Good Facilities but VERY noisy and LOTS of commercial traffic, 2012-04-03
Captain: , Houston TX (349)

We stayed here for a month in March 2012. Salty Sam's has several good points -- the docks are concrete floating and excellent; the people who work there are nice and helpful; the showers and laundry are more than adequate; and it is only 1/2 mile to pick up the trolley for the grocery stores and West Marine (both of which are an easy bike ride also). Also the Big Game Bar has great drink and food specials in the afternoon. That being said, Salty Sam's primary emphasis is on their rental boats, time share boat customers and restaurants. It is VERY VERY noisy and public if you are anywhere close to either the Big Game Bar or the Parrot Restaurant. You also run a constant risk of being hit by the numerous small rental boats that use the marina and the restaurant customers that arrive by boat, many of whom get back in their boat after drinking. These people do not know how to handle a boat at all. Also, since the docks are not restricted access, there is constant foot traffic on the docks in addition to customers for the pirate ship, Key West ferry and the other charter boats. If you are only passing through and staying a couple of nights, it is a nice transient marina. If you are planning a longer stay, make sure you are not close to the bar, restaurant or charter fleet. And remember that they are now charging $20 to pump out your boat.

pumpout paradise/NOT!!, 2012-02-22
Captain: , St Louis Missouri (276)

Pumpout price in all of Fort Myers beach is rediculously high because of the city charging $15.00 if you are not on a mooring ball. the marina's have picked up on this and Salty Sam's charges $25.00 for a pumpout.

Nice overhighter, 2012-02-07
Captain: , Kingtston Ontario (273)

Came in for a night after spending a few days on the ball. We enjoyed our stay friendly staff & clean facilities, you share the bathrooms with the resturant crowd, so you hvae to pick your time!!!

Good Transient Marina, 2011-06-07
Captain: , Punta Gorda, FL. (251)

Great concrete floating docks. Decent current running through marina. "A" dock has it's own wake up call when the Key West Express changes boats at 6AM in the morning. Staff is friendly and helpful. Two fun restaurants at marina. Nice location and easy biking over to the beach. We would stay again!

Great place, good for kids, 2011-02-17
Captain: , Fort Myers Beach (276)

The restaurant is pretty good and the view/setting is terrific. Can accomodate up to 40 ft. boats I believe. They run a pirate ship out of there and do a great job, so its certainly something the kids will enjoy. Like the other posters, I agree it does get tourist traffic but nothing more than the other places during the winter months.

Too Many Tourists, 2011-02-13
Captain: , Punta Gorda, FL (20)

This is a nice marina but not really our cup of tea. The marina is very tourist-driven with a large re-created pirate ship leaving from the end of the dock a few times day. Rental pontoons boats everywhere with inexperienced boaters at the helm. Have to say, we were there on a holiday weekend, so during non-peak times it may be more tolerable, but we'll stay away from here next time. Restaurant was nice and dockmaster and staff friendly however.

year long stay was great, 2010-03-29
Captain: , Dallas, TX (726)

Stayed for a year flying in from Dallas to be on the boat. Was on a cleaning schedule and when we arrived it was always in great shape. Staff very helpful and kept a close watch on the boat calling when something was unusual. Overall was a great experience. Great place for the boat, easy rides to Sanibel, Captiva and Boca Grande.

Great docks, strange service . . ., 2009-11-12
Captain: , Ft. Myers Beach (263)

The floating docks here are great. Minimum length for vessels is 40 feet. There is a restaurant on the premises.

parrot key, 2009-05-24
Captain: , Melbourne Florida (4616)

Dingy to the bar...loved the music and the food

5 star, 2009-04-01
Captain: , greencovesprings, fla. (279)

An above average marina with a good location and very helpful staff on the dock especally when you arrive on a 20 plus mile an hour windy day. Great food and lots of tourist.

Worth a Visit, 2009-01-14
Captain: , Punta Gorda. FL (360)

Pros: Salty Sam's is transient friendly: floating docks, ship's store and good restaurant, free WiFi.
Cons: Southerly dock ("D") covered with bird doo and accessed through muddy boat launching area next to no-see-um dense mangroves.
To do: Dinghy through the mooring field, out to the beach or south and east round toward Hurricane Bay to enjoy natural beauty (only slightly spoiled by derelict boats). Walk or bike over the bridge to the main Ft Myers Beach area (1-1 1/2 miles)
Overall grade: A-

GREAT FACILITY, 2008-03-12
Captain: , Hastings, MN - Upper Mississippi (2)

Have only docked there to eat but they have very nice docks, a complete ship store and great adjoining restaurant (Parrot Key Grill).

Great Restaurant, 2008-01-20
Captain: , Ophelia, VA (849)

Great restaurant - but floors in shower are always dirty.

docks and bar, 2007-08-30
Captain: , ft myers beach (790)

excellent floating docks, marine store, fuel and great rest/bar called parrot key. fun place

Ads by Google