Details for Salt Ponds Marina Resort

Salt Ponds Marina Resort

Display in The Interactive Cruising Guidebook
Average rating 4.1 stars from 33 reviews

Address 11 Ivory Gull Crescent
Hampton, VA 23664-1553


After hours contact

Pro-Op message

We have all floating docks with full length finger piers, fuel dock, 2 swimming pools, 2 nearby sandy beaches, a poolside cabana / tiki bar, and a full service restaurant with fantastic seafood and more. We look forward to seeing you.

Learn more at

Facility type

Marina - YES
Club - NO
Fuel - YES
Repair - NO
Municipal - NO
Other - NO


New ownership as of 1/1/13.

VHF channel



Email contact

Owner, manager



Cindy Hawkins

Payments acceptedCredit cards - YES
Checks - YES

Payment info

Payment discounts

Groups (3 or more) and BoatUS.

Operation (seasonal or year-round)
Year round

Additional info: Memorial Day to Labor Day: 7:30 am to 7 pm.
Winter: 7:30 am to 5:30 pm.


Shoaling and dredging are a regular cycle occurring approximately every other year here (depending on storm activity). The City of Hampton normally dredges the inlet to 8 feet MLW depths, however throughout the 2 year cycle the inlet will reduce to about 6 feet MLW. Then the cycle repeats.

The City of Hampton owns and is responsible for the condition of the inlet. Concerns may be expressed by calling the city help line at 757-727-8311. Let them know the inlet is important to boaters.

Update December 2016: The inlet has 6.5 feet at MLLW (zero tide). When coming in, there is shoaling around R6, around G5, and on the green side across from and just past R10.

See illustration at

Or contact Salt Ponds Marina Resort for local knowledge or assistance, VHF 16 or 757-850-4300.





Tide & current additional info

Current is weaker as you get further inside the Salt Ponds, away from the inlet.


Approach: 6.5
Transient dockage: 8
Fuel dock: 10

Other depth info: The City of Hampton maintains the inlet with regular dredging. The center of the inlet channel is not always the deepest. Soft mud bottom once inside the pond. Use center of channel once inside, away from the inlet.

Update December 2016: The inlet has 6.5 feet at MLLW (zero tide). When coming in, there is shoaling around R6, around G5, and on the green side across from and just past R10.

See illustration at

Or contact Salt Ponds Marina Resort for local knowledge and assistance, VHF 16 or 757-850-4300.

Dock typesWood - YES
Concrete - NO
Floating - YES
Fixed - NO
T/Alongside - YES
Other - NO

Additional info: Full length very wide fingers (floating docks) with rubber rub rails.

Size restrictionsLOA max: 110
Beam max: Unknown

Other info: Full length floating finger piers.


Transient: 5
Total: 254
Transient price: $1.25/ft (2017-09-25)

Other price info: Transient rate is based on LOA. Unoccupied slips also used for transients, call for large groups or clubs. *Groups of 3 or more and BoatUS is $1.25 per foot. Regular rate is $1.50 per foot.


Transient: 0
Total: 0
Transient price: Unknown

Other price info:

AC power30 amp - YES
50 amp - YES
100 amp - NO

Additional info: Twin 30 amp also available.
Two 50 amp in some locations.

Pricing info: Metered electric.

Cable TV (and pricing)


Phone hookup (and pricing)


Water (and pricing)

Yes - Water to docks is turned off in the winter but available year around at the fuel dock and bath houses.

Dinghy access

Yes - Call the office by phone or VHF for check in and placement.

Liveaboard info

No - Limited.


Fuel brand: Mid-grade gasoline (higher octane than plain unleaded).

Gas price$2.85/gal (2017-09-25)

Other price info: Floating Fuel Dock - facing the channel, easy access.

All taxes included.
89 octane Mid-Grade unleaded.

Diesel price$2.50/gal (2017-09-25)

Other price info: Floating Fuel Dock - facing the channel, easy access.

All taxes Included.


No - 2 miles to bottle exchange or 2 miles to refill your own bottle.

Pets welcomeYes

Other pet info: Pet friendly. Dog treats in the marina offce, come on by.

Disability access

Yes - Floating docks, wide finger piers, wide ramps, and helpful dockhands 7 days a week.

Launch service

Pump out

Yes - Pump-out and porta-potty receptacle available at the fuel dock (floating dock), do not dump in the restrooms.


Yes - 10 pound or 20 pound bagged ice.


Yes - Daily trash pickup. There are cans at each dock ramp.


Yes - Available at 3 different locations.


Yes - Available at 3 different locations.


Yes - Available at 2 different locations (coin-op).


No - It's about 2 miles to the Food Lion and 4 miles to a Farm Fresh with Starbucks.


Yes - Small marine store onsite. 2 miles to an auto parts store and an Ace Hardware. 7 miles to West Marine.


Yes - Under renovation, 2016.


Yes - Under renovation, 2016.

Hotels or motels

Yes - The marina neighbors the Lady Neptune Bed and Breakfast Inn.

Repair capabilities

Yes - Old Dominion Marine Repair is on-site.

Third party mobile repairs are available. Third party divers also available. Arrangements can be made through the marina office.

Haul out capabilities

No - Not on location.

Storage facilities

No - Wet slips only.

Fishing supplies

Yes - 1.5 miles to Buckroe Bait and Tackle Seafood store.

Chartering capabilities

Yes - Third party captains are available to pick you up at the fuel dock.

Internet access

Yes - Salt Ponds Marina Resort offers free WiFi. 2GHz and 5GHz WiFi in the lounge and 2GHz WiFi on the docks.

Boat ramp availability

No - 5.4 miles to City of Hampton's (free) Dandy Point Boat Launch.


Yes - Taxi service is available. Rental cars can be delivered to the marina.

Other services

Large family swimming pool with lap lanes. 3/4 mile of boardwalk for day and night strolls or jogging. Grassy area for tossing a ball or exercising. Beach nearby for exercise.

Anchor Yacht Brokerage on-site.

Official fishing weigh station and 2 self service fish cleaning stations.


Salt Ponds Beach is across the street. Buckroe Beach is just a few blocks down.

Reviews for Salt Ponds Marina Resort
Very well protected in the inner basin, 2017-05-30
Captain: , Mooloolaba (692)

We moved here from Southall as we had to vacate the floating dock at Southall and preferred to move onto a floating dock here at Salt Ponds. We were given a slip in the inner basin and were very happy with this as there was some poor weather around. The floating docks are old but there is evidence of ongoing repair. The bathrooms are adequate, not as good as at Southall. The on-site restaurant is closed as there seems to be some stoush between the marina owners and the body corporate. The floating docks and the better protection earned it a higher rating in our book than across the inlet. This Marina is around half a mile long. We might not have liked it as much if we were at the ends of the dock although there are distributed bath houses and the protection remains good.
Opportunity for walks on the beach adds a dimension to this as well.

marina worked for us, 2017-05-29
Captain: , Stow, MA (470)

We liked the marina. Pool was lovely, office had area for guests including a computer and monitor. Employees were very helpful. We thought rest rooms were clean but men's room inside door needs a lock. Down side is very slow diesel pump, and old pump out system. Also the restaurant was closed.

same as the last review, 2017-05-03
Captain: , Milwaukee, Wi. (798)

Pool was being redone, but that happens... rented a car to get around...friendly staff but noticed a lot of sitting around...washer and dryers were not clean and bathrooms could be cleaner...especially when employees are sitting on there hands...'This is a management problem!! We never knew who was in charge here...that said...we think this is a nice place to stop and with a little extra management...well?

Decent marina, 2017-04-29
Captain: , Chicago, Racine, Fish Creek,Wi (3189)

4 29 2017 Stayed a night. The Marina is close to public beach. Has a three sets of rest rooms spread out. Staff is friendly. Floating older docks do the job. Facility is older but nice layout. You can do long walk along boardwalk or through the area. Nice area of homes and condos. Some nearby resturants will deliver food to marina and they give you flyers to call them. They are not close enough to walk to. Good protection from the weather for your boat. Reasonable prices. Rest rooms could be improved. Would return here again in future.

Nice place to visit, 2016-11-05
Captain: , Wickford, RI (456)

Easy entrance into the Inlet, just follow the instruction listed by the marina. Friendly, helpful staff, very accomadating, they were waiting for us when we came in, helped us tie up, plug in, and explained the services and surrounding area to us. There's a nice beach a short walk away, which we took avantage of. The folks on the dock were very friendly. Will definitely return.

A Great Stop, 2016-09-01
Captain: , North Charleston, SC (752)

We had this marina pencilled in on a trip two years ago but never made it. We did this time and had a great experience. The restaurant was closed, but we can do without a restaurant once in a while. We have food and know how to cook.

The staff was friendly as were the other boaters. The facility is in nice shape and there's a great pool. It's a short walk to a nice sandy beach which our puppy loved.

We would recomend this marina to anyone who asked.

Nice Protected Marina, 2016-08-09
Captain: , Green Cove Springs, FL (280)

Easy approach, just follow the channel in. Very friendly and helpful staff. Docks seem to be in good shape to me. Reasonable price at $1.25 per foot with BoatUS discount. Pool is very nice. Easy walk to a nice beach.

Solid WiFi, just very slow. Very fast AT&T LTE connection. The restuarant reopening is behind schedule so is not open yet. Nothing within easy walking distance, but several places that will deliver. Bathrooms were dated but clean. Uber is available here. Gasoline has ethanol, not their fault but the government.

Waffling between 4 and 5 stars, mainly becuase of the slow WiFi and gasoline with ethanol. Going with 5 stars but if WiFi and ethanol free gas is very important to you it's probably a 4 star marina.

A Must Return Location, 2016-05-13
Captain: , Harrington Harbour South (95)

Wonderful setting with well marked approach. Staff waiting to help late in the day. Great bath houses and facilities. Easy walk to public beach.

Snug Harbor right on the Bay, 2015-12-08
Captain: , Nyack, NY (646)

Stopped for the night in off season to meet up with friends. Noted depth issues in reviews, and found 7.5' at bar by the jetty two hours before low. Otherwise, channel was fine. We got a slip close to office, but the walk to our friends boat at the north end was long. Personnel knowledgable and friendly. Restaurant / bar / pool, closed for season. Didn't see shopping nearby. Would stay here again.

Salt Ponds Marina, 2015-09-20
Captain: , ColonialBeach, VA (330)

Great marina to visit in the area. At times the channel can be skinny if it hasn't been dredged in a while.

Restaurant is good and reasonable., 2015-08-26
Captain: , Chesapeake, VA (60)

The restaurant has very reasonably priced and tasty food. The blackened tuna wrap with fries was very good.

Salt Ponds 2015, 2015-08-12
Captain: , Philadelphia (90)

Just had a great stay. Long walk from any dock to facilities although they do offer daytime rides by golf cart if necessary. Great on site mechanical services. The marina is situated in a centralized location if you have a car to reach shopping/dining/touring/entertainment away from the marina. (Enterprise works well) Restaurat was not open. on our visit. We would return as a stopover point again regualarly if we had to be through the area. Locals are very helpful as well.

SALT Ponds, 2015-08-01
Captain: , Suffolk, VA (20)

Great Marina staff and fuel prices...stay away from the restaraunt! Horrible service and food is nasty!

Good Marina But a Bit Worn, 2015-07-28
Captain: , Colorado (411)

Spent a month here in June 2015. Good staff, very friendly people, floating docks, free pump-out at fuel dock, nice pool and restaurant. Bath houses can use some updating and TLC (worn and stained flooring, fixtures from the 70's, soft floors, could use more regular cleanings). Quite a walk from the outlying docks to the office and internet worked at the office but not out at the outlying docks. Beach nearby, convenience stores a long walk away, grocery stores required a car or long bike ride. A decent base for seeing the area if you get a car (local Enterprise number in the office).

Salt Ponds Revisited, 2015-07-06
Captain: , Norfolk Virginia (481)

Have not enjoyed Salt Ponds Marina for several years due to navigation in the channel which has shoaled and had been very unreliable (draw 5.5').

Heard that dredging was complete, confirmed by Marina and confirmed by visit last several days. With tides at Sewell's Point (my reference for the area) showing plus 1-2 feet as we entered and departed, consistently say they have their advertised 8 foot MLLW depth (assuming that to be their baseline). Shoaling at R6 has always been the most critical (at the red side jetty) and we sax 10 feet.

Marina itself is as we remember: good facilities being reasonably maintained and better personnel. From dock hands to office staff, very positive and helpful. Pet friendly and had no problem with wifi at our berth G-5 (very convenient to restaurant, pools and dog walking).

Restaurant is Water's Edge and think that Yelp reviews are a little harsh but only a little. This is a Marina bar and restaurant. Could be more but is what it is. We had reasonable meal and service. Will say that servers were working in overdrive to keep up with partrons on a Sunday evening. Trying hard and head barely above water.

We are going back. Not that the nav is reasonable, this is an fine stop.

Nice Marina, 2015-05-04
Captain: , Virginia Beach (133)

We visited for a day trip in July 2013. Nice marina and professional staff. Restaurant is good. Two pools, one for Adults. Floating docks and small store. Update 05/2015: Stopped in again. Very friendly professional staff. Restaurant is convenient and reasonable. Docking is very protected from wind and there is very little current.

Not interested in my business, I guess., 2015-03-15
Captain: , Rivers Rest Marina (20)

I wanted to rent a slip in the Hampton area this summer, as we are planning several trips and it would be a time/fuel advantage to be positioned within shorter reach of the Bay, as we are currently docked further inland on the Chickahominy River. We checked out Salt Ponds and had a very nice initial conversation with a staff member there. After explaining that I would be looking to rent a slip from late June through late September, she quoted me a rate and showed me two available slips that would be options for me. We were encouraged to have a walk around the facility and even though we had plans to check out another nearby marina, she assured me that "I'd be back." As luck would have it, we did return a few hours later with the intent to reserve a slip for June through September and pay for the first month in advance. However, when I asked about this, the same office staff I spoke to earlier informed me that "it doesn't work that way" and if I wanted to rent a slip in June, I'd have to call in May to make those arrangements and they would have to see what was available, and that if I wanted to reserve a slip now for June through September, I'd have to pay for April and May. I was very surprised at this, especially after my initial greeting earlier that morning, and when I mentioned that they must not want my business because they already expected to be full this summer, they nodded agreement with a take it or leave it attitude. I was so stunned at this that all I could do was thank them for their time and leave.

I've never - in 20+ years of boating - run across a marina that wouldn't take a reservation that was more than two weeks in advance, especially one that wouldn't take a prepaid reservation for a three month slip rental. For comparison, I've made reservations at three different destinations throughout June, July and August for this summer and they were more than happy to take my reservation. Maybe Salt Ponds would rather snub short term renters in anticipation of getting higher rates for transient dockage? I can only speculate.

I am giving them two stars instead of one because they really do have a nice facility with a lot of premium amenities. It's a darn shame we weren't able to reserve a slip for this summer to enjoy them, as I'm not going to wait until the last minute to call and hope they can accomodate me, as they suggested I do. Ridiculous.

Management response:
Hello Captain Jack Greve,

We are very sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with our Marina policies and do apologize for not meeting your expectations. We strive to be the best Marina on the lower Chesapeake and have been voted just that by Chesapeake Bay Magazine’s followers.

You were essentially asking us for over 5 months of slip rental at the price of 3 months during the most active time of the season.

Whether “reserved”, “on-hold”, “pre-paid for a later date”, or however you label it, we would have had to black-out the slip from our very short list of available slips. This is the time of year we receive hundreds of people calling and walking through our door looking for slips to enjoy the 2015 season and we try our best to accommodate all of them. If we blacked out every slip that people were eventually going to rent, we would have nothing available to offer the rest of the boaters. We have found that many times circumstances change (especially on reservations that are months away) and people may need to cancel their reservation. It could be poor weather, mechanical issues, life changes, found a different Marina, or just about anything. Then we would have turned other boaters away from that slip when we didn’t need to, we cannot risk that. You were asking us to turn away other boaters and hold something to accommodate your schedule.

You mention that there were only 2 slips remaining that would be an option for you. Even if we didn’t designate a specific slip, we still could not take your pre-paid reservation (although we wish we could) because we may not be able to fulfill our obligation when you arrived in June. Those 2 slips could be full, the Marina could be completely full, the only available slip could be in a location you are not happy with, or we could just not have the correct space for your particular size of your boat.

We do, very much, appreciate and desire your business. In fact, we were prepared to rent you a slip right there on the spot! We just simply cannot remove slips from our available list right as we begin the 2015 boating season. We need to accommodate as many of our boaters as we can and having slips available for people that are here and ready now is very important.

When you are ready in late May or early June, we may very well have a slip available. However, we simply cannot see into the future. We do hope you decide to check in with us, at least make a phone call. We wouldn’t want you to miss out on a great 2015 season here with us.

Gene McKay
Owner, Salt Ponds Marina Resort

Best Marina on the East Coast, 2015-03-15
Captain: , hampton (10)

This is the best marina i have ever been to. My wife and I came in the other week to look around and fill out a lease. The place is absolutely beautiful and the staff is very friendly and professional. I can't wait to bring my boat in next month. If you are looking for a place to keep your boat salt ponds is the place to would be a shame to miss it.

Nice spot but facilities are aging, 2014-12-20
Captain: , Annapolis, MD (40)

While living in Hampton I watched the Salt Ponds complex getting built. It is a nice facility with good docks, pools, showers, etc but it is showing its age. The resturaunt on the second floor of the main building is passable but rather noisy and is more of a drinking spot for locals residents and full time slip holders. It is a long way to "town" and the affluence of the area drops quickly as you get away from the beach area. Grocery shopping is possible in Buckroe Beach and in Phoebus but both are taxi rides away. The beach is nice but access is limited since proivate homes line pretty much the entire waterfront.

been misled by dockmaster, 2014-11-05
Captain: , newport beach (128)

i have called a few times and confirmed the depth at entrance and at slip, i have been misled, and i have hit my propellers here in two spots,

when i talked to the dockmater she didnt seem to care.
i wouldnt trust her !

Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Marina. We sincerely apologize you felt the staff was unsympathetic.

We are aware that the entrance to Salt Ponds can be challenging. Our goal is to consistently provide as much information as possible to our customers, so things go smoothly. We apologize you encountered such difficulty.

The City of Hampton maintains the inlet and we have no control. The City will start a dredging project this fall. Additionally, they will be rebuilding and extending the jetties. This should make the entrance good at all tides and avoid any troubles like you encountered.

Gene McKay
Owner, Salt Ponds Marina Resort

Nice but could be better, 2014-10-02
Captain: , Frog Mortar Creek, MD (180)

Stayed two days. Convenient access to Ches Bay., facilities clean, admiral liked pool, restaurant and staff good, not convenient to local shops/stores. Rental bikes would have been a plus. A good hike to bath facilities.

Weekend Getaway, 2014-09-29
Captain: , Newport News, VA (153)

only a couple of hours from our home port. Been here several times. Great pool and showers and bath facilities are adequate. Resturant on sight is good but not one to search out.
The approach channel is very narrow and not foregiving! Word is it will be dredged in spring 2015 and a new jetty built.

Great place to stay or visit., 2014-09-21
Captain: , Virginia Beach (52)

Well maintained and friendly. The year rounders have a pot luck barbaque each Tuesday at 7PM. I stayed for three months while waiting to start my trip south.

Liveaboards are not allowed, but I have met cruisers that have been here for over 12 years. Month to month and Annuall leases available.

Pretty long walk from the last two thirds of the Marina to the Office, Pool, and Resteraunt. Reasonable slip fees. Maybe the best in the area. Laundry and rest rooms very clean.

A Terrific Stop!, 2014-09-19
Captain: , MV Red Head (3106)

Enjoyed two nights at Salt Ponds Marina. We had plenty of space to walk our 4-footed crew with treats offered at the marina office. There's a restaurant with a pool and tiki bar at the head of the fuel dock which we didn't get to try because some of the friendly boaters invited us to their potluck party which was held around the other beautiful pool on the property. The beach is just a short walk away with public access.

The staff is professional and very friendly. The boating community is welcoming. Everything is first rate and well maintained. This is a great stop for a few days, a season, or as your homeport. The marina is surrounded by beautiful beachfront homes and condos.

If you draw more than 5 feet, you need to follow the approach directions carefully and should plan on coming in at or near high tide. We draw 6 feet and found plenty of water just before high tide. The manager, Cindy, explained the the city is beginning a dredging project this fall and will be rebuilding and extending the jetties as well. This should make the entrance good at all tides. But do not wait to stop in at this terrific facility. There is deep water once you are in Salt Pond, just watch the tide. It would be a shame to miss it.

Very Nice Marina with pool and beach, 2014-08-23
Captain: , Hampton, VA (314)

This a very BIG and nice marina. It can be a long walk to the marina office. The pool is exceptionally nice and the beach is an easy walk across the street. Shower houses are nice. There aren't any services nearby. Careful attention should be paid to the channel.

Nice Marina, 2014-08-01
Captain: , San Diego (300)

Shallow draft at low tide at the inlet to Salt Ponds. Not much over 6 feet! Two swimming pools and the typical Tiki Bar for dinner. Really nice white sand beach across the street from the marina. Shopping is a ways away, ie. too far to walk! Reasonable slip fees and great diesel prices.

Excellent marina on the Chesapeake Bay, 2014-01-16
Captain: , Hampton, VA (150)

Very clean and kept up well. Restaurant on premise is ok (good but not great) and location is excellent on the lower Chesapeake Bay for anyone looking for a fishing or sailing location or just a nice stop on the ICW.

Nice shelter, 2013-11-20
Captain: , Deale Maryland (110)

A very nice shelter when the wind is up. Floating docks and a very nice resturant.

Easy entrance, Nice stay, 2013-09-16
Captain: , Sea Cliff, NY (1075)

Perhaps we were lucky, but we passed through the "trouble spot" at the entrance channel at absolute low tide, and the lowest water we found was 6'. Certainly something to keep an eye on, but for us the entry and exit was plenty deep. We were more concerned with the traffic at the entrance- a boat pulled up on the north-side beach area and lots other boats coming and going.

The docks are in excellent condition and the power is the correct voltage. Very protected area. Office help was excellent and very courteous. The bar area gets a bit loud, but it died down after 8pm. (we were there on a Sunday night). We were assigned to the slip next to the fuel dock. Great location, but be sure to pull in far enough to keep your bow or swim platform protected from users of the fuel dock.

Showers are fine. Pool was very nice, too (wife swims laps). We did not try the restaurant. Overall this was a good stop, and the special they had running made it even better.

Good access from the Bay, 2013-08-21
Captain: , Vero Beach, FL (184)

A huge marina with lots of live aboards. I think we were the only transients the one night we stayed. If you draw more than 5' you'll have to wait for mid-tide. We draw 4 and at low tide we saw 1.5' in a couple of places. Very nice pool. Did not try the restaurant. It just didn't look that appealing.

Great hidey-hole, 2013-06-07
Captain: , Sarasota (1427)

The Bay was snotty and Andrea was coming so we bailed out at the nearest place. What a great stop! Plenty water in inlet and at marina. Spent two days here. The deck guy, Austin, was very helpful. Very protected. The cost was less than shown in AC. The community, Buck Row, is like a beach town, even though it's on the Bay. The restaurant is very good - be sure to try their french fries - homemade and excellent. The laundry had two washers and two dryers - a plus. Had a very nice trading library. The small store has ice cream. Didn't find any flaws.

Our Visit Was Great, 2013-06-06
Captain: , Solomons MD (20)

We overnighted at Salt Ponds Marina Resort 5.31.13. We had a good slip convenient to the office and restaurant, and were greeted and aided by the staff at docking. A very nice marina, with good food.

Living aboard, 2013-05-25
Captain: , Hampton, VA (115)

We live here on our Morgan 416 OI. The fairways are narrow but just completed dredging just made the channel in 9' mlw by 100' wide. The staff couldn't be more helpful. The facilities are clean and well kept. Overnight transient fee is only $1.40 a foot! Onsite restaurant is ok with a great view. 200 yards to the beach!!

Ads by Google