Details for Suntex Marina at Daytona Beach

Suntex Marina at Daytona Beach

Display in The Interactive Cruising Guidebook
Average rating 3.2 stars from 31 reviews

Address 721 Ballough Rd
Daytona Beach, FL 32114


After hours contact

Pro-Op message

Transients Welcome! Marina basin now dredged to 5 feet€™ MLW.

Facility type

Marina - YES
Club - NO
Fuel - NO
Repair - NO
Municipal - NO
Other - NO

VHF channel



Email contact

Owner, manager


Charles Masters


Payments acceptedCredit cards - YES
Checks - NO

Payment info

Amex, MC, Visa, Discover

Payment discounts

Operation (seasonal or year-round)
Year round

Additional info: Year round, seasonal, and transient dockage available.






Tide & current additional info


Approach: 8
Transient dockage: 9
Fuel dock: 8

Other depth info:

Dock typesWood - YES
Concrete - NO
Floating - NO
Fixed - YES
T/Alongside - NO
Other - NO

Additional info: New decking and finger piers, 2014.

Size restrictionsLOA max: 100
Beam max: Unknown

Other info:


Transient: Unknown
Total: 85
Transient price: $2.25/ft (2016-07-20)

Other price info: All wet slip rates are based boat length or slip length, whichever is greater. All fees are subject to State Sales Tax and Florida Submerged Land Lease fees.


Transient: 32
Total: Unknown
Transient price: Unknown

Other price info:

AC power30 amp - YES
50 amp - YES
100 amp - NO

Additional info:

Pricing info: 30 amp is $6.00.
50 amp is $9.50.

Cable TV (and pricing)

No - Cable TV is available through Brighthouse.

Phone hookup (and pricing)

Water (and pricing)

Yes - City water.

Dinghy access

Liveaboard info

No - Liveaboards are not allowed.


Fuel brand:

Gas priceUnknown

Other price info: No longer carries fuel.

Diesel priceUnknown

Other price info: No longer carries fuel.


Pets welcomeYes

Other pet info: There is a dog park located on Manatee Island, the island just past Main Street on the mainland side. There is a walking bridge and it is reported that there is a dinghy dock on the the water side of the island.

Disability access


Launch service

Pump out







Yes - They are very nice.




Yes - Coin laundry is available.


No - There is no grocery within walking distance.


Yes - There is a ships store.


Yes - Carribbean Jack's is on the property and nice. No other restaurants are close.


Yes - There is an outdoor bar.

Hotels or motels

Repair capabilities

Haul out capabilities

Yes - There is a forklift with a 12,000 lb. limit.

Storage facilities

Yes - They have an enclosed building. There is a height limit plus see haul out limits above.

Fishing supplies

Chartering capabilities

Internet access

Yes - WiFi is available.

Boat ramp availability

No - The nearest public boat ramp is across the river under the bridge.


Other services

There is a swimming pool and hot tub.


Reviews for Suntex Marina at Daytona Beach
Loggerhead still needs some work, 2017-06-15
Captain: , Annapolis MD (260)

Loggerhead Marina, now owned by Suntex, is still recovering from Matthew. North dock is still destroyed. Stayed on the tee head on the south dock. Pilings were beaten up; rubber fenders were securely attached to some pilings, loose on others and completely missing on one. Dock is just off channel and parallel to ICW but fortunately in a minimum wake zone. Not much rocking from the few passing boats. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Wifi and electricity was good. Restaurant next door, Caribbean Jack's was convenient. Sort of a tourist trap but food was fine. Did not use bathrooms or showers so no info there.

Now Called Caribbean Jack's Marina, 2017-05-22
Captain: , Oriental, NC (21)

We came by today and noticed that the marina has a new name, Caribbean Jack's Marina. Does not appear to be a Loggerhead any longer. Main piers are still heavily damaged.

still destroyed, 2017-05-17
Captain: , Marathon, FL (1264)

Passed by 5/14/17, docks are still a mess.

Needs some help, 2016-12-15
Captain: , Ormond Beach (10)

Work area is a great place, but there is much that is needed to get this place up to speed. Docks needs some help, fork truck drivers all seem reliable and careful.

Heavily damaged from Matthew, 2016-11-07
Captain: , Huntsville, AL (588)

We came by today and the main dock where transients usually dock is not capable of holding any boats. It is broken apart with a lot of it sunk. The other smaller dock has boats, but I don't know if it takes transients. Call before planning a stop here.

good but not yet ready for transients., 2016-07-21
Captain: , Key Largo (5457)

both dockhands tried but were not really to help with docking. in all fairness, One was brand new.
dockhands where Not familiar with tides in area, etc.
facility is nice.Not really worth the price.
transient dock was on the outside of a T head, thank god it was not windy. some wakes and movemente even though.
docks ane fresh and clean, as are facilities, pool, captains room, heads , laundry.
Downtown locatioin, not walkable to much however, nice bar/resturant on property.

Will check back next year, 2016-07-20
Captain: , St Augustine, FL (40)

Echoing the thoughts of another recent review: We stayed here last year, arrived for one day, wound up staying for four because we loved it so much. This year we came back for Memorial Day weekend. Approaching the marina, we could not get anyone to answer the VHF. We entered and circled looking for a dock hand to shout at, and found no one. Finally we just pulled up along their outside dock and asked some of the locals to grab a line and help us tie up temporarily until we could find out what was going on. Went to the marina office and asked what was up, and they gave us our slip number. We asked for help at that slip and they looked at us like we were from Mars. Went to the assigned slip and there was already another boat there! Spent the night where we had temporarily tied up, and left the next day. Some of the locals tell me they have seen new management twice this year, the most recent being two weekes ago? I was tempted to give only one star, but (A) it was a holiday weekend, so I give a little slack for the chaos factor that goes with that, and (B) Carribbean Jack?s is still pretty good dining.

Management response:
Dear Jonathan Somers,
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We regret to discover that you received an unacceptable level of service on your last visit, and I would like to sincerely apologize for this.

We will investigate the concerns you have raised and hope you will give us another chance in the future. Thank you, again.

big mistake, 2016-06-25
Captain: , Clarks Hill (10)

Signed lease for one year.Cancelled lease after one year. Marina took money from my credit card for 2 additional months after boat left.Am still waiting for deposit to be retuned. I regret ever doing business with this corporate entity.

Management response:
Dear Mark Jablonski,
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about our Daytona Beach marina. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We have confirmed your security deposit has been received. Should you have any further questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact the Harbor Master. Thank you, again for your feedback.

Great experience!, 2016-05-07
Captain: , Wilmington, DE (10)

Staff was very fiendly and helpful as we approached the dock. Three staff members were on hand to help dock our sailboat. We did our monthly provitions shopping and when we asked if tbey had a cart to load it in, we got a young fella with the cart to help get it to our boat. Then we decided the last minute to see if a diver could clean our bottom and an hour later a man in a wet suit showed up to do the job! So thank you Becky and Colby for the warm hospitality in a nice facility! We will definetly stay with you again

Great place to stop, 2016-03-26
Captain: , Bar Harbor (90)

We were northbound and this marina is on the north side of the bridges you need opened for passage (convenient). The staff was skillful and friendly. The restrooms were clean

Very corporate org, 2015-11-28
Captain: , ft myers beach fl (51)

We payed for a month, two day later they said they had made 100.00$ mistake. Ok we paid the $100.00(although they seem to making as they when) next day it was something about insurance, got that straighten out. I'll be damn the next day they called saying they wanted a 1mo deposit., which they will mail us( right the city is in the mail) Forget it , we did not want to wait for the next day phone call, we left losing 700.00$

What a difference a year makes, 2015-10-08
Captain: , Salem,AL (120)

Stopped here last year. The service and food was top shelf. Not so this time. There is too much wrong to post here. Will NEVER stop here again. You may e-mail me for details

Great location, easy in and out, 2015-06-27
Captain: , Onset, MA (90)

Very nice marina, clean facilities, nice pool. Caribbean Jack's on premises--very popular spot for drinks and dining.

Great Stopover, 2014-10-19
Captain: , Jensen Beach FL (40)

On arrival last week we were meet with a low flyover of the US Navy Thunderbirds. It was the Embry-Riddle Airshow which performed right in front of the Marina last Sat and Sun. Did not plan that but was pleasantly suprised. Eventually spent 5 nights there, using the reciprical Loggerhead agreement. Great marina. Staff was great. Pool,Spa and Captains lounge are spectacular. Carribean Jacks restaraunt on the property has great food and drink at a reasonable price and nightly entertainment that shuts down at a reasonable hour. Not really close to provision "off property" but Enterprise rent a car will pick you up and drop you off and its worth a days car rental to take in some of the sights like the Daytona Racetrack or off property restaraunts like the "North Turn" by the Ponce Inlet where the original Daytona race began. This is a great stop on the east coast of Florida.

Excellent facilities and Service, 2014-09-05
Captain: , Myrtle Beach South Carolina (10)

On an extended cruise down the ditch, we had a fuel pump go out. We made it to Loggerhead Marina in Daytona Beach about 3 am on one motor. The staff was super courteous and extended every bit of help possible. The showers and restrooms were very clean and private. The pool was excellent and well maintained. The onsite restaurant is decently priced and has a great menu. If you anticipate (or dont) a stay in this area, this is the place to do it! Thanks to all at Loggerhead from the guys from Myrtle Beach and our Silverton 372 "Thats What She Said"!

Good people here, 2014-04-02
Captain: , Shinnecock Bay, NY (610)

I stay here atleast a month at a time, this is my third stay. I like the people that work here, but the corporate attitude is "pay now, then we'll talk" I have noticed quit a few empty slips this time as compaired to the last stay. But the food at Jack's is good, and not unreasonably expensive. They always have live musit at night, and it is gone by 11. The docks are secured by a guard at night. The showers are large and well maintained. Laundry is kept in good condition. The bike rack, however is overflowing with rusted out abondoned hulks that should have been disposed of years ago. I remember some of them from my first time here and they haven't moved since. 4 stars cause they don't have fuel.

Lucky Surprise, 2013-11-29
Captain: , South Riding, VA (55)

Was planning on ending our journey from MD around here and come back after Thanksgiving to finish the trip to the Keys. When the bridge broke just below here we came back to stay here for at least a night. We ended up paying for a month (not any more than anywhere else) when we found out we would get 14 days free at their other marinas down the FL coast. Nice surprise! They were very helpful in getting tied up, the restaurant was very nice, and the taxi to the airport was very easy. Can't wait to get back and finish the trip.

Very Nice Facility, 2012-12-07
Captain: , MV Red Head (3106)

The docks and grounds are very nice and well maintained. The dockhands were helpful and competent. We ate at the restaurant which was nice. And there was even a dog park nearby which was a big plus. It was a good stop for the night and we would return.

june 30 2012, 2012-07-03
Captain: , jax, fl (111)

Frst the bad, our boat is 25' with an outboard on a Armstrong bracket. The docks are fixed wood with a very short walkway. You have to back your boat in. in our case the engine wacked a few times, once we trimed it up a bit it was okay until the tide came in and the foot got hooked underneth. we did get it right but it took awhile. also the dock was very high so the wife and the dog both had problems getting in and out of the boat. we were the smallest boat there. Having said all that, the restrooms/showers were nice and clean. the resturant was better than average(i'd go there if I live around there) they had a live band right across from our slip, but when we went to bed, about 10:30 it was just a low mumble of noise. All and all very nice and we would stay there again.

Came in late, 2012-07-02
Captain: , St. Thomas, USVI (624)

While we liked this marina ok - facilities were maintained and nice - , there was no one after hours to assist, but their onsite restaurant and bar was fully staffed. It is a coprate marine in a chain and their phone number after hours puts you into a message that says they would be happy to assist during business hours of 9-4. Not very practical for a marina on the waterway. We were able to pay and check in at the restaurant, but it would have been nice to have had more assistance docking. Luckily a friendly live aboard helped us get in. The restaurant was very touristy but good food.

Daytona experience, 2012-06-01
Captain: , St. Lucie River (158)

We left our boat here for a month while we flew home. We got to experience the marina a couple of days before we left and a week after we got back. Nice small facility compared to Halifax. Clean facitlities, good restaurant and friendly staff. Fairly new staff so some learning going on. Docked on the outside on the N side. Some windy days, but the waves and wake were not a big deal. Daytona beaches are within longish walking distance. Main street is an interesting walk. Bottle cap and McK bar on Beach street. had some interesting beers. The MOAS museum was interesting, but a car rental away.

P.S. For out monthly stay, they required a security deposit equal to one months stay up front and we are still waiting to get it back two months after leaving. Supposidly they do not have the technology to put it back on your credit card. Corporate has to send it in the mail and its only done at the end of month. Pretty stupid game playing. No issues with local staff, but not a fan of HQ.

Internet Connection, 2012-05-02
Captain: , Saugatuck, MI (144)

Advertise Internet without charge for "Short Term Connection" Their server "Turnkey" has another philosophy. Pay as you go and no exceptions.

Easy docking compentent staff, 2011-11-22
Captain: , Stuart FL (835)

8 November 201

Other than Brunswick Landing Marina this is best value for a laundry along the ICW. We arrived late and left early so wakes were no problem even though we were on outside ofMarina docks. Good place for pets. Floating dock and good staff. Steve, the Harbor master was super. We were meeting someone who was going to be with us on boat for a couple of days and Steve had no problem with leaving a car in their secure lot. He even let us take his personal car to get groceries.

Since this is a Loggerhead Club Marina we took advantage of the reciprocal agreements with their other clubs.

Stephen Starling

Truly great experience., 2011-07-01
Captain: , Sarasota, Fl (22)

We stopped here on our trip from Sarasota to St Augustine. This Marina exceeded all our expectations except for not having a fuel dock. (There is one located two miles south at the Halifax Marina) The Dock Master (Steve Moore) and his staff, both office (Janice and Tasha) and deckhands (Brian, Zack, etc) could not have been more friendly and helpful. The showers & facilities are new, the sailors lounge has Wi-Fi, and although we did not use it, a pool is also available. The restaurant on site (Caribbean Jack%u2019s) has a good reputation in the area; I can attest to the Big Grouper sandwich %u2026awesome. We would stay here again if in the area.

Great Stop, 2011-03-11
Captain: , North Carolina (344)

Stopped here so we could walk downtown to see some of the activities for Bike Week. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Restaurant had excellent food. We enjoyed our stay.

Excellent dockhands, 2011-03-10
Captain: , East Greenwich, RI (222)

We stopped here on our way south to Key West in January and were very impressed with the skill and friendliness of the dockhands ,especially Brandon. Now on our way north we again chose to stay here and again have nothing but good things to say about all of the employees.

Had A Great Time., 2011-01-26
Captain: , Palm Coast, FL (385)

Dock facilities are quite nice and well maintained and the staff is very attentive and helpful. On site restaurant has excellent food and is a very active local watering hole at night. Plus, old Daytona Beach down town area is a short walk away.

Friday night and Saturday night can be a bit noisy because of the bar but is' not bad enough to keep you awake. My choice though was to join them. :)

No Fuel Here, 2010-05-06
Captain: , Wilmington Deleware (330)

Since changing hands can not buy fuel here. The staff was friendly and helpful, but no wi-fi on the boat only in the Captain's lounge. There is a pool right next to the restaurant.

Nice Marina, 2008-04-24
Captain: , Neabsco Creek, VA (95)

Easy access to and from ICW. Pleasant and helpful staff. Nice restaurant on premises. Live bands and good menu. Generally crowed for dinner. Nice bathrooms.

We stayed for a little over 3 weeks and used bikes to get to the beach and stores. The nearby areas are a little rough and we wouldn't venture out at night. No problems during the day.

Nice Marina, 2007-04-26
Captain: , Ocala (7)

Good restaurant & bar on premises. Located a few blocks from the old downtown area that is being renovated. Several bars & restaurants in this area, probably to far to walk and not the best neighborhood. As previous post said, very popular with the locals and bikers during bike week. Nice showers & bath facilities. Only drawback I had in keeping my boat there is that the closest inlet is Ponce which is about 30 minutes south and there are two drawbridges to deal with if you require more than 19' clearance.

Fun place, 2007-04-14
Captain: , fairland (2653)

Very popular with the locals. Live music, good menu inside or outside dining. Marina under new management. Fuel prices are $1.00 more than Halifax Marina, just south of this establishment. But the restaraunt is still nice.

Ads by Google