Details for Constitution Marina
Name

Constitution Marina
Position

Display in The Interactive Cruising Guidebook
Average rating 4.5 stars from 51 reviews

Address 28 Constitution Road
Boston, MA 02129

Phone617-241-9640 (Fax: 617-242-3013)

After hours contact

617-241-9640

Pro-Op message

Boston's most well protected marina. Easy access to museums, restaurants, and all that Boston has to offer. Next to the USS Constitution right on the "Freedom Trail". Reserve for winter in water storage or next summer's special events. Heated pool open all year. We have the largest liveaboard community in New England for good reason.

Facility type

Marina - YES
Club - NO
Fuel - NO
Repair - YES
Municipal - NO
Other - NO

VHF channel

69

Web sitewww.constitutionmarina.com

Email contact

sebastian@bosport.com;tom@bosport.com

Owner, manager

Tom Cox and Peter Davidoff

Harbormaster

Howie Collins

Dockmaster

Sebastian DaSilva

Payments acceptedCredit cards - YES
Checks - NO

Payment info

All major credit cards.

Payment discounts

Guests receive discounts of up to 20% at local restaurants and other businesses. BoatUS, Boat Local, group discounts, and extended stay discounts also available.

Operation (seasonal or year-round)
Seasonal

Additional info: Destination marina in the summer and popular in-water winter storage facility for liveaboards in the winter. Well protected inner harbor location serving a large transient population in the summer months.

Approach

Located at the mouth of the Charles River in Boston's Inner Harbor. Turn left at the Coast Guard Station - main entrance on Charles River close to bridge. Colored flags make for easy identification of docks. Call on VHF 69 for directions. Video of approach can be seen on web page at www.constitutionmarina.com

Tide

10

Current

Weak

Tide & current additional info

Currents only present when the Charles River Locks are pumping during heavy rain events.

Depths

Approach: 30
Transient dockage: 16
Fuel dock: Unknown

Other depth info:

Dock typesWood - YES
Concrete - NO
Floating - YES
Fixed - NO
T/Alongside - YES
Other - NO

Additional info: New mains being phased in 2014 - 2018. Well protected and easily accessible Broadside dockage for all vessels over 65 feet.

Size restrictionsLOA max: 180
Beam max: 30

Other info:

Slips

Transient: 80
Total: 300
Transient price: $3.50/ft (2016-10-31)

Other price info: Over 55 feet is $5.50 per foot. Discounts available with special promotions. Ask about weekly and monthly discounted rates. 300 slips with over 80 transient slips available. Split weekly and monthly rates available.

Moorings

Transient: Unknown
Total: Unknown
Transient price: Unknown

Other price info:

AC power30 amp - YES
50 amp - YES
100 amp - YES

Additional info: First 30 amp included. Single and three phase 100 amp available.

Pricing info: 2nd 30 amp is $20 per day.
1st 50 amp is $25 per day and the 2nd 50 amp is $35 per day.
100 amp is $55 per day. Metered in the winter.

Cable TV (and pricing)

Yes - Free

Phone hookup (and pricing)



Water (and pricing)

Yes - Winter water also on the docks.

Dinghy access



Liveaboard info

Yes - New Englands largest liveaboard population. Very well protected location. Pool open all year. Staff shovels docks and coddles customers. Running water at docks all winter, great community.

FuelGas: NOT AVAILABLE
Diesel: NOT AVAILABLE

Fuel brand: Discounts available with a cooperating fuel dock in the harbor.

Gas priceUnknown

Other price info:

Diesel priceUnknown

Other price info:

Propane



Pets welcomeYes

Other pet info: Boston's largest "no leash" dog park next door, including children's playground and waterfront park leading to Science Museum.

Disability access



Launch service

Yes

Pump out

Yes - Stationary and mobile pump outs. No charge. Operates all year.

Ice

Yes - Blocks and cubes are available.

Trash

Yes

Showers

Yes - Very clean and modern.

Heads

Yes

Laundry

Yes - Several units available. Use coin or credit card with instant access from your cell phone lets you know when machine is available or wash is done.

Grocery

Yes - Whole Foods within 4 blocks, courtesy car available.

Hardware

Yes - At the shopping center 4 blocks north, courtesy car available.

Restaurants

Yes - Hundreds within walking distance, a select number offer discounts of up to 20% to marina guests.

Bars

Yes - Dozens within walking distance including one of Boston's and the countries oldest.

Hotels or motels

Yes - B&B's on boats and Marriot Residence Inn on site.

Repair capabilities

Yes

Haul out capabilities

No

Storage facilities

Yes

Fishing supplies



Chartering capabilities

Yes - Constitution Yacht Charters on site, 617 241-9640.

Internet access

Yes - Beacon WiFi, no charge on the docks and in the clubhouse. New enhancements completed for improved performance.

Boat ramp availability

Yes - Nearby

Transportation

Yes - Courtesy car. Water shuttle, water taxi, and public transportation are on site and within easy waliking distance.

Other services

Pool and barbecue areas

Attractions

USS Constitution and Museum, Boston Garden, Museum of Science, Red Sox, public parks, and all that Boston has to offer.

Reviews for Constitution Marina
Great Marina, 2016-09-26
Captain: , Braintree, MA (10)

Great Marina, fantastic location, staff were very helpful. Looking forward to going back.



Million Dollar Location, 2016-09-16
Captain: , Norwell, MA (30)

This is a first-class marina. The staff is professional and very helpful. You will be met at your slip by dockhands to help bring you in easily. The rest rooms and showers could be in a Hyatt or Hilton. Charlestown is a vibrant and pleasant location, and it is a quick walk over the North Washington bridge to the North End and all of Boston. The water taxi docks there. The views of the city are spectacular -- all this for the price of a slip? Such a deal! The marina's pool and deck with picnic tables are pleasant places to relax or even work. The live-aboards there are always friendly and interesting to talk to. In short, it is a great way to visit busy Boston while being able to enjoy some serenity back on your boat.



Nice Location, Not Business Friendly, 2016-09-06
Captain: , Ipswich, MA (10)

Visited marina multiple times. Drawn by its location. Marina is tight. Facilities are adequate. Business dealings are difficult. On multiple occations when a refund was involved had to make multiple calls to the Dockmaster to get it done. First was a BoatUS refund which took multiple cals to effect and recently after multiple representatins I am still waiting for documentaton of a credit owed for an early departure because of a Hurricane forecast. Note they require a 7 day cancellation notice without penalty.



Location, location, location and more!, 2016-09-01
Captain: , Dinner Key (50)

Located in Charlestown and steps from the USS Constitution and Hop On Hop Off busses and trolley. Easy walking distance to many restaurants and an awesome ice cream shop and bakery just steps from the marina. A Marriott is next door. The folks who run and work at the marina are helpful and a pumpout boat is always available. Showers, heads, and 3 washers/ dryers are on site. Many live aboards call it home. We had some work done through the marina office.
We spent a month at this marina and would return!!



Easy check in - friendly crew perfect !, 2016-09-01
Captain: , Singapore (10)

Easy check in - friendly crew perfect !



Always a fun time at Constitution Marina, 2016-08-29
Captain: , Boston (10)

Staff is very courteous and helpful, facility is always very clean and the location is really great. Walk right over bridge to North End and Fanual Hall. This is my 5th time there and I will be back for sure.



Perfect stay, 2016-08-28
Captain: , Hingham (10)

Great staff great slip !Cant ask for more



Good location, 2016-08-23
Captain: , Honolulu (531)

Stayed over the 4th of JUly weekend. Great location! Out of the bustle of downtown, but within walking distance over the bridge. Staff was exceptionally helpful! Very clean modern facility, but a loooong hike to the head, shower, office, pool area. Free pumpouts. $5 a foot for the holiday weekend, but, it is Charlestown!



Great Weekend at Constitution Wharf, 2016-08-22
Captain: , Marion, MA (10)

A great marina for visiting Boston and Charlestown. Friendly staff, clean facilities and great location. We have a dog, so the nearby dog park was a plus.



Fun Time in Boston, 2016-08-22
Captain: , Cape Ann Marina Gloucester, MA (10)

We return year after year and are never disappointed. We look forward to next year.



Thursday night stay, 2016-08-19
Captain: , Salem (10)

We stayed at the T-dock - overall this is a very pleasant marina with all the amenities. It was very hot that day so we took a swim in the pool as soon as we reached. Great location, too. The reason for the 4 stars, rather than five is that we were next to the Charlestown bridge - with a lot of traffic noise through the night. It's a bridge with a metal grating so tires make a lot of noise.

Management response:
Thank you for the kind review. As you say our location is great……..we are in the middle of a great city and within walking distance of all the great sites that Boston has to offer. Our location in the middle of the city comes with the noises of the city……traffic, sirens, helicopters, construction, and the USS Constitution cannon that wakes us reliably at 8 am each morning.

All marinas are site specific. Constitution Marina is in the middle of the city, and although we like to think of the marina as our oasis in the midst of the city it does come with the associated hub-bub.

We love it here, we are happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.




Another great stay in the heart of Boston!, 2016-08-13
Captain: , salisbury (10)

The bathrooms were clean and very nice. The pool was a welcome relief from the relentless August sun. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was great, just a few minutes walk to the North End where there are weekly street festivals. Very affordable for such a great location.



Constitution?, 2016-08-12
Captain: , Hyannis YC (20)

Very nice, clean. Pool was great, verrrry hot 2 days. Staff very helpful.



Best Marina in Boston, 2016-08-02
Captain: , Hingham (40)

Constitution is a great marina. Used Dockwa to reserve. Located in a great place close to everything. Dock hands were helpful. Sebastian was terrific. Had a slight issue with a follow up charge on Electric but was resolved quickly. Cant say enough good about Constitution!



Great community, 2016-08-02
Captain: , Montreal (717)

We spent one night there and feel at home. Great staff, warm welcome. We fought a bit with the Internet, but then it worked.
Easy access to downtown. Rent a bike with the Hubway for 8$ per day and hop from docking station to docking station using your credit card to unlock the bike again. What a great way visiting the city. We also appreciated the discount offered to marina's customers by some local restaurants.




Great Location. Nice staff. Modest docks. Horible to navigate to slips., 2016-07-31
Captain: , Newport (10)

This marina is in the right place. Sure, it's a bit dated. Who cares when you can walk to the North End? But, it's rediculously, if not carelessly over-packed with boats. Even though we made it clear our boat is large & wide, lacking thrusters, we were given a slip that forced us to navigate within 1' on each side of a 150 ft. yacht, despite lateral current & wind. Unacceptable.

Management response:
Dear Captain,

You are absolutely correct. We take your concerns seriously and are making changes. Unfortunately the Mega Yachts have been growing in size and beam and we have not been keeping up. As of today, thanks to your comments, we will be limiting the allowable beam that we accept on our entry docks so that there will always be ample room for vessels to maneuver easily.

You will also be pleased to hear that we have been replacing our docks with brand new state-of-the-art floating docks and have completed the replacement of over half of our outer most docks. This process will continue until all of the docks have been replaced.

We recognize our unique location in Boston and hope that you will once again visit Constitution Marina without the obstacle course.




Stayed at Constitution Marina for 3 nights , 2016-07-30
Captain: , Yarmouth Port, MA (30)

First time at this marina; staff was first rate and best showers on our trip. Walking distance to great restaurants and grocery store. Will definitely be our Marina choice when in Boston.



Convenient location , 2016-07-28
Captain: , Connecticut (30)

This Marina is a great location. Central to most of Boston. Dock master was less than helpful and frankly rude. The rest of the staff tried to be as helpful as they could be. Marina facilities are nice i.e.: laundry, restrooms. Docks are a bit run down. Outer docks experience lots of wake traffic. Reasonable price, but get what you pay for.

Management response:
Thanks for communicating your concerns.

I am personally investigating the "hospitality" issue as it is of the greatest concern to us, and I will reach out to you privately. I can assure you that "rudeness" is not an attribute that we tolerate here....and as you can see by other reviews our Dockmaster of twenty years has been well received and appreciated.

You should be happy to hear that the marina is in the process of rebuilding all of the docks......and that the dock you were on is scheduled to be bebuilt this winter. Our protected location in Boston's busy inner harbor gives us the best protection from wakes of any of Boston's marinas

I hope you return to us so we can have a chance to exceed your expectations and show you what real hospitality is all about.

Most Sincerely,

Tom Cox, owner/manager





Great stay - as usual, 2016-07-27
Captain: , Salem Willows Yacht Club (10)

Staff was helpful and organized. They were ready for me right away on arrival. Facilities were clean and well managed.



great location and services, 2016-07-11
Captain: , Rhode Island (10)

We stayed for 2 nights recently and this place is great. The dock we stayed at was wide and stable, the the showers were excellent and very clean with plenty of hot water. Both the dock staff and office personnel were very pleasant and helpful in a number of small ways that added up to a great experience. A short walk took us to the North End and downtown for some great fun. The bridge traffic next to the marina is a bit noisy during the day, but quiets down at night after the rush hour. Overall, I highly recommend staying there.



Boston's Best, 2016-06-22
Captain: , Miami (10)

We have docked at Constitution at least twice each year for more than three decades. It offers the best views and least roll from wakes and weather, good power and an excellent staff. The docks and cleats are substantial and in the process of being upgraded. The attractions and restaurants of Charlestown and the North End are within easy walking distance. The long term boats may be more eclectic than those found in the megayacht marinas in downtown Boston, but they fit right into the experience we all seek in a cruise to Boston.

Management response:
Dear Captain,

Thank you for the kind words. It's great to see so many of our boating friends return year after year. We are fortunate to enjoy a very well protected location in Boston's inner harbor with easy access to Boston's best.

We also enjoy our "eclectic" mix of round the world sailors on a budget, local boaters, and mega yachts.......it fun to join our boating friends around the pool and swap "fish stories".

Thanks again for the kind words, see you in the fall.




Mixed feelings., 2016-05-10
Captain: , Twin Dolphin Marina (271)

Pro's:

I'll start by saying the owners and staff are good people, and made our extended stay as nice as possible. The club house facility is good, the bathrooms are cleaned regularly, the heated pool stays open throughout the year, and there are regular customer appreciation cookouts which are a really nice touch not seen in many marinas. They also have a nice arrangement with local businesses for slip-holder discounts. Not to mention, it's in a great spot with a great view of the skyline and within walking distance to the city.

Con's:

But there are some cons (mostly applicable to longer term slipholders) which I'll try to lay out as objectively as possible, and will full deference to the staff who try their best to run a good marina.

It's a bit of a strange setup, but the marina does not actually own the land over which it floats (or so I've been told). As a result, they don't have pilings to secure the docks. In the summer season, that's not a huge problem in terms of accessability, but in the winter they tie all the boats and docks together which means no off-season boating. (The staff will untie the lines for you if you need to leave mid winter, but you won't be doing any regular boating off season). That may or may not be of concern for some people.

Also because of the lack of pilings, and perhaps more concerningly, there is nothing between you and your neighbor, and depending on the type of boat you/your neighbor have, it can be VERY tight coming and going. Tight enough to make you waste your day out on the boat worrying about how you're going to shoehorn yourself into your slip when you get back. In fairness, the dockhands will come help you squeeze in if you call as you're returning if it's within their business hours. (If you're on board your boat and someone hops on without warning, it's probably a dock hand trying to keep your inbound neighbor from hitting you). This becomes a real problem when your neighbor leaves for a week and a transient boater comes in who is unfamiliar with the (at times) rapid cross currents in the marina, or otherwise unfamiliar with close-quarters docking and fails to ask for assistance, or comes in after office hours. We were hit (no joke) 6 times in a single season. 2 of those hits resulted in damage of over $750 each for rub rail replacements, gelcoat repair, and a new anchor roller. Again, if fairness to the marina, when I found out I'd been hit one morning, I left my office to check on the boat, and the marina owner himself came down to assess the situation with me, so this isn't a gripe about customer service.

One other strange thing that you don't typically see is the the staff moving boats without the owners present. They often have to shuffle boats during the seasonal change over, or for some other reason, and that shuffling is done with or without the owner present, and you may or may not get a phone call before hand to allow you to be present. You'll also come back to the boat to find new docklines tied to it, some of which may have been chewing away ate your gel coat for a few days.

So there it is, my long-winded, mixed-emotion review about our time in the constitution marina. Great staff, wonderful ownership, all working to offset some of the marina's inherent idiosynchracies.

Post script: Unless you've lived in the marina through a winter or two, or have a cool, salty beard, don't expect too many returned hellos on the dock. I thought it was just us, but I've since met 3 other couples who experienced the same thing. Don't take it personally, it's just a tight-knit group.


Management response:
Dear Captain,
Thank you for your kind words. We strive hard here at Constitution Marina to make our guests feel at home and comfortable and it is always nice to see that our efforts are appreciated. We have a great boating community and a fantastic location in the heart of Boston.
Your concerns seem to be primarily related to our winter procedures. Because of our proximity to the city and our well protected location we have become a safe harbor for many boaters during the winter season. This presents a whole new set of challenges during the tough New England winters. We pride ourselves in being able to provide a safe and comfortable environment for over 150 liveaboards during the winter. During the winter months the majority of boats in New England are “decommissioned” and “layed up” as a requirement of their insurance. For the safety of our boaters and our staff we go to extremes to tie up the vessels in our marina and secure the docks for the eventual winter blizzard. We even run our winter water 8 feet under the docks so it does not freeze in the winter and we operate our pumpout boat all winter for the benefit of our winter customers. Over the past twenty years we have only had a handful of boats that requested “off-season boating” and had the requisite insurance. We accommodate those few by placing them on outer docks so access is easier.
The lack of pilings in our marina was a choice not dictated by ownership of the bottom but rather by the depth of the water, the flexibility of mooring systems for docks, and the safety of boats and docks during major storms. In our location with 30 to 40 feet of water the mooring system is the preferred choice.
We do move boats to their winter slips without the owners present….but only with the owners permission. Our customers are comfortable with our crew moving their boats to their winter (or in the reverse)/ summer slips. Boat owners have the option to move the boat themselves but most find it easier and more convenient for our staff to provide this service (free of charge). Just as we perform pump-outs without the owner present our goal is to make it as easy and efficient as possible for the boat owner. We do not run the boat’s engine, we use our specially designed skiff to make the moves.
Our staff is always available to assist boaters, in fact, three of our staff live on their boats here at the marina. We very seldom have visitors arrive at night, but when we do we make special arrangements to meet them and direct them to their assigned slip. We know when the current is running from the locks next to us……it only happens when there is a large rain event… and we are able to notify our customers and assist them so they can deal with the occasional current. If a boat should strike another vessel we have procedures to make sure the damaged party is made whole. We take pictures, interview witnesses, and contact insurance companies. Accidents do happen, but with diligent management, consequences are minimized and quickly rectified.
We love our community here at the marina and although in the winter it may be a bit more difficult to say hi to everyone as we struggle against the winter wind on the docks, we have pool parties every Friday night at the marina to help enhance the sense of community that is so important to us.
A lot goes on behind the scenes to ensure that our friends and guests have a safe and enjoyable experience. We welcome your input and suggestions.




Location and price great, service not so much, 2015-08-11
Captain: , Ft. Lauderdale (420)

Arrived on a Sunday and filled out work order to have alternator replaced. Left personal message with mechanic on Monday AM. Stayed for 8 days and did not hear one word from mechanic or marina staff. In the meantime fearing it was not going to happen I rented a car on Wed. and drove to Quincy to purchase new alternator and installed myself.

Management response:
Dear Jim,
Thank you for your comments. We investigated your concerns and we really dropped the ball on this one and we are truly sorry. We take your concerns seriously and we apologize. It is especially disconcerting to us since you had the foresight to call us before you arrived to make sure that we could handle your mechanical issue…and we assured you that we could! Unfortunately, after putting you in touch with a reputable sub-contractor to service your vessel we failed to follow-up. Since we deal with many sub-contractors on a daily basis and direct thousands of repair dollars to these sub-contractors we generally have a lot of leverage to make sure that the work is completed satisfactorily. We neglected to follow-up on the work you authorized and we sincerely apologize. Your time should not be spent chasing our contractors to service your boat.
Hopefully we can make it up to you the next time you visit us in Boston. We try to learn from our mistakes and as of today we have instituted additional protocols to make sure that this will not happen in the future.
We value your patronage, and as avid boaters ourselves we know how precious your time is on the water. Thanks again for sharing your experience.




Nice location, reasonable, 2015-07-28
Captain: , New London, ct (20)


despite shoddy docks, the overall is good. new and well maintained bathrooms, laundry and pool area. We were squeezed in tight but the docking assistance was prompt and friendly

Management response:
Thank you for your review. We are in the process of replacing all of our docks and by next summer we will have completed stage one with the completion of E dock. Next time you will notice a big difference. Our docks are always serviceable and secure, but it is our staff that truly sets us apart. Thanks again for your kind words.




Low Cost Slips, 2015-07-22
Captain: , Mt. Sinai, NY (243)

Stayed here for a night in early July - lowest cost slip in Boston Harbor. Nice marina with a small pool, some of the docks could use replacing. Many liveaboards call the marina home.



Great Staff and Nice Marina, 2014-10-08
Captain: , Hingham, MA (1079)

We checked out this marina for our short-list of potential winter liveaboard marinas. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The marina and surroundings are nice - with lots to do. The marina is set up well for winter liveaboards and so it was an easy decision for us to decide to stay here. Looking forward to meeting the large liveaboard community here.



Great place to stay visiting Boston, 2014-09-01
Captain: , Annapolis, MD (370)

I came planning to stay one night, ended up being 3 due to weather and liking the place....lots to do, great facility, walk all over Boston downtown from here (if you like to walk, which I do). And the Charelstown area immediately adjacent to the marina is really nice.



boston a short walk, 2014-08-27
Captain: , Buzzards Bay (381)

Very professional staff, pumpout in slip by boat. Enjoyed climbing the Bunker Hill Monument and walking the Freedom Trail. Plenty to eat and eat and see at the Fisherman Fest in the North end. Should of climbed the monument a second time after the eating so much.



Great Place to Stay, 2014-08-10
Captain: , Mystic Shipyard (10)

Very professional and very accomodating. Close to everything in Boston and short walk to the T. Plus bagels and coffee on weekends.



Great location, cheapest slips in Boston., 2014-08-03
Captain: , Niantic, CT (564)

Transient slip assigned on the outer G dock. Rolly during daylight with tour boat traffic. Helpful dock hands and pumpout at your slip by the marina's pumpout boat. Easy walk to the North End and TD garden. Large liveaboard population. Cable at our slip was not working. Bathroom/shower facilities some of the nicest we've seen. Laundry facilities can be paid by credit card. Just a short walk to the USS Constitution.



great location, 2014-07-21
Captain: , South Portland, Maine (847)

we had lunch in the North End at Vito's. The fish burger was amazing as was the smash burger our hostess ordered

I can't recoommend this place highly enough. Join Marina Life for a discount.



Location, location, location, 2014-07-13
Captain: , Essex, CT (1675)

We had a terrific time here. Staff were quick to lend a hand, the showers and restrooms were spotless and modern and the location right in the heart of the city couldn't be beat. We did the Freedom Trail, watched fireworks from the deck, and watched the Constitution dock on the 4th of July! Oh - and did I mention we weathered hurricane Arthur from here as well. A star studded 2 days! By the way - the chowder at Warren Tavern as well as the ambiance is worth the short walk.



Right in the heart of things, 2014-07-09
Captain: , Annapolis, MD (282)

This is a wonderful marina with friendly folks. We have stopped here in 2011, 2013, and 2014. The docks are in great shape; the bathhouse is nice, the pool is great (small); and the location can't be beat. It's not cheap, but well worth the rates.

Easy walk to whole foods, Charlestown, uss constitution, the T, and downtown Boston.

Watch the current on the way in especially if they assign you a spot inside.



Place to stay in Boston, 2013-07-15
Captain: , Barrington RI (127)

We stayed here over a sweltering July 4th Holiday for 2 nights. Location is the highlight. In view of the Garden, North End, etc. Next to USS Constitution and Navy Yard. Facilities and docks are clean and well maintained. Security is excellent and seasonal slip holders are friendly. Pool area and deck are very small and were super crowded but to be expected for holiday. My only dissappointment is that we were rafted to another boat in our 4 boat party despite having made reservations in early March. This was done without any notice to us until we turned into the Marina. Marina staff service was fine but not over the top. Pumpout facilities were broken. But all and all a good stop and would return.



Great location, protection, services and best price, 2012-09-23
Captain: , Bayfield, WI and the ICW (1279)

This place has competant and friendly staff, the best protection in town, convenient to the North End and everything you need (including a small swimming pool!) but fuel. it's also cheaper that all the others. It really is a no-brainer if you can get in.



Great Boston Stop, 2012-09-10
Captain: , Seattle, WA (414)

Great marina!! The staff was very helpful, great bathrooms/showers, very close to downtown, groceries and wine store. Couldn't have found a better place in Boston and the price is very responsible. Don't miss the USS Constitution which is right next door. We highly recommend this marina.



Excellent experience. Very hospitable., 2012-08-22
Captain: , BANGOR (41)

I brought my 27 sailboat in early and there was an employee on the dock ready to assist. They couldn't have been any kinder. Free coffee and donuts on the weekend, wi/fi, showers, laundry -- all very well done. Not inexpensive until you compare it with other choices in Boston Harbor, and then it seems like a very good value indeed.



Hard to find anything wrong here!, 2012-08-14
Captain: , Denton, TX (435)

Agree with most of the positive comments provided by others. We were very happy with our stay here.



Great transient experience, 2012-07-29
Captain: , Macatawa Michigan (1104)

We were going to stay for 4 days but ended up 11 because of visitors and weather. Couldn't have been happier. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The bathrooms marble and rain shower heads. The laundry clean, reasonably priced and available. Some of the best gas grills I have ever used and a very clean and comfortable area to eat, if you choose. Nice pool. Very quiet at night -- tucked away so very protected from wind and current. Liveaboards friendly and welcoming. Docks, electrical and water all good on the transient dock. Decent grocery 4 blocks and very good Whole Foods short cab ride. Wonderful restaurants easy walk. Bus, subway and cabs all close by (Residence Inn next door). Neighborhood within blocks has everything - dry cleaning, beauty salons, etc. if you have need and time. It is expensive to stay here.



Excellent marina in great location, 2012-07-21
Captain: , Deep River, CT (250)

The marina is very nice, the staff all helpful and friendly. The seasonal/liveaboards were also welcoming and gave us many hints about Boston. The location is great. Right next to the USS Constitution which should be visited. The water shuttle takes you right to the aquarium. It is a short walk to the "North End", where you have your choice of reportedly over 200 restaurants. We enjoyed a few during our stay. Also short walk to North Station where you can board the subway to just about anywhere in Boston. Boston has also just completed the Riverwalk which is a beautiful walk to the Museum of Science. My only regret is that we could not spend more time there.



Don't forget the Liveaboards, 2012-01-19
Captain: , Islesboro, Maine (104)

To offer a different perspective, we live aboard at Constitution Marina...all winter. The staff here walk the line perfectly between being proffesional, yet warm and supportive through the tougher months. The night we got here the marina was hosting a huge party with two huge hams and turkeys, and the marina had supplied two kegs of beer!. All winter they do things to keep the community thriving like hosting pool parties or parties at Italian restaurants in the North End. Despite the freezing cold this is the most warm community I have ever lived in.



Great location, 2011-07-18
Captain: , Marion, Mas (326)

This is a great location. Charkestown is nice to walk around, seems plenty safe and the Constitution and Navy yard are very close. The North End is a short walk over the Charlestown bridge - retsraurants and shops galore.



Great all around Marina, 2011-06-26
Captain: , Boston, MA (20)

Sure, it's costly, but remember- It's Boston. EVERYTHING is expensive here. They have great service, are always friendly, and the location is great. Downtown is just a few minutes away (walking). There restaurants and shopping all around. As long as you can past the cost, you'll love it.



A boaters marina, 2011-02-22
Captain: , hingham (161)

Where the locals stay. Owners are great. Location within walking distance of the city. Calmer at night than the inner harbor. The finicky crew on my docks have nothing but good things to say about the place.



Good But Could be Better, 2010-08-02
Captain: , Westport CT (250)

Docks can use repair but are servicable. "E" dock is a long walk to the marina entrance. Short walk to the USS Constitution from the marina entrance. The Water Shuttle leaves from a pier near the Constitution and takes you to Long Wharf which is right downtown. Fare is $1.70 ($0.85 for seniors). DO NOT confuse with the Water Taxi which is $20 per person. The Water Shuttle is run by the MTA.



Facilities, 2010-06-19
Captain: , Andover, MA (90)

Very nice 'private' bathroon/showers and laundry.



Unless you're rich or pretentious, stay away, 2010-06-01
Captain: , Boston, MA (172)

Nice facility, terrible staff. Dockmaster is the unhappiest person I've ever met. Operations Manager is arrogant, condescending and self-righteous. Some of the tenants are great but others think their fecal matter doesn't smell. Look for friendlier grounds. I did.



Great location, 2009-07-09
Captain: , Hilton Head, South Carolina (533)

I spent a week at this marina. The best part is that the loction is very good to visit town. You can walk to Little Italy and come back late without concern or get to the T station. Marina has a pool and docks etc. are in good shape.



Constitution Marina, 2008-08-13
Captain: , Maryland Yacht Club, Pasadena Md (81)

Very nice marina, howevery at $3/ft it is a little expensive. Short walk to Bunker hill and convient to downtown Boston.



Constitution Marina, 2008-08-13
Captain: , Maryland Yacht Club, Pasadena Md (81)

Very nice marina, howevery at $3/ft it is a little expensive. Short walk to Bunker hill and convient to downtown Boston.



A bit of History, 2007-08-19
Captain: , Greenport, NY (23)

Our slip was within 150 feet of the famous "old Ironsides" the Constitution. The oldest commissioned warship in the Navy. The view of the city at night were spectactular. The staff was super friendly. Many livaboards and they all were friendly and talkative. This marina is like party central. A short walk into town and the Restaurants in the North End will amaze you, one better than the other. Bunker hill, the old navy yard, the constitution all within walking distance. A great place to have an extended stay.

Ads by Google